Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2009, 02:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


Hi all, I just moved to a new house, and was going to hook up my 4 prong dryer when i realizes the new house had a 3 prong receptacle. So I popped off the receptacle cover to see if by some miracle it had a ground in it and I could switch out the 3 prong receptacle to a safer 4 prong. Well to my surprise it did have a ground, but, the ground was being used as the neutral as it was only 10/2 wire. My wife was nagging me to get the dryer working so I thought well they've used it like this for this long must be ok and ran to the store and bought a 3 prong dryer wire and gave my wife the reigns to the dryer. But I keep rethinking my decision and wonder if I should find a way to run new wire from the basement to the second floor laundry room, which would not be an easy task.

So my question... is my current wiring set up ok and shouldn't be a problem or should I change it out asap? I do not want to put my house or family in jeopordy and will chase the new wire if needed.

Also, since I did chage the dryer from a 4 prong to a 3 prong should have I bonded the dryer to neutral?

Thanks in advance for any help.

papashaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 02:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


Change the dryer cord to 3 wire and replace the bonding strap (which grounds the frame to the ground/neutral)

If you want to be current code compliant, run a new 4 wire circuit.


Last edited by 220/221; 05-14-2009 at 02:36 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 02:40 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


The 10/2 was never complaint and never safe. This is a pretty common DIY mistake when running a dryer circuit.

The bare ground in NM cable is NEVER meant to carry current (ie: act as a neutral). Some will say this is a minor violation, I would not agree. It is as bad as any other time a ground carries current, which is BAD.

Nagging wife or not, I personally would NOT use the dryer this way. I would opt to run the proper "4-wire" (10/3) circuit.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 07:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


Quote:
It is as bad as any other time a ground carries current, which is BAD.
I agree but the NEC does allow the SE installations, which are bad.

His "10-2" could be SE.


OP...was the ground solid or stranded wire?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 07:58 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post

His "10-2" could be SE.
Not if it said "10/2".
You know very well that SEU and SER cable is not designated that way.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 08:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


Quote:
You know very well that SEU and SER cable is not designated that way.
Ahhh..... but, as you pointed out, this is a DIY site....right?


Change out the circuit to 4 wire ASAP. Here is the danger. The motor runs on 120? so the ground/neutral carries about 5 amps back to the panel.

If you somehow lose this ground/neutral at the recep, the panel or on the power company side, the frame of the dryer will try to carry that current.

If you touch the dryer and the washer at the same time (while pushing the start button) you will get a very nasty surprise.

There is an outside chance it could happen.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 08:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 502
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


I'm kind of afraid to look in the receptacle and see what kind of wire I have in my dryer. So many bootleg wiring jobs have been done over the years, I'm just happy it is 10 gauge.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 09:34 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


It is a solid ground wire. I don't know what SE or SEU means but if my neutral and ground are not bonded on the dryer I wouldn't have to worry about touching the washer and dryer and lighting up like a light bulb would I? I guess I just need to know if it is safe or not, if it's not safe I will go through the work to change it out. It is a 10/2 romex so shouldn't the ground be sheilded good enough for that 5 volts it carries back?
papashaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 09:47 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


Oh, SE....service entrance cable....got it. Well like I said this is just romex but it's amazing how we learn new things. I think I better change it out...makes me wonder about the rest of the wiring in the house though I have found a couple hidden junctions already which I corrected. I also found out that they ran 12/3 for some electric rads in the basement that they tied some outlets and lights to, is that normal practice? I always thought the rads should be on their own circuit. Kind of jacked my own thread there didn't I?
papashaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 09:55 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


Yikes! I just did the same thing. Bought a new dryer, came with four-prong plug and I've got a three-prong outlet. House bulit in '72. I may NOT be able to run a new line to it so by moving my old 3-wire plug, what do I wire eliminate on the back of the dryer? what is "bonding" that you mention?
bobs97850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 06:33 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


Quote:
Originally Posted by papashaq View Post
It is a solid ground wire. I don't know what SE or SEU means but if my neutral and ground are not bonded on the dryer I wouldn't have to worry about touching the washer and dryer and lighting up like a light bulb would I? I guess I just need to know if it is safe or not, if it's not safe I will go through the work to change it out. It is a 10/2 romex so shouldn't the ground be sheilded good enough for that 5 volts it carries back?
If it is only a 3-wire circuit to a dryer the neutral must be bonded to the case. That is the whole point. The NEUTRAL also serves as the ground.

No, it is NOT carry only 5 volts. I have NO idea where you came up with that one. It carries 120v and several amps. That bare wire is now carrying the load of all the 120v items in the dryer.
The ground is not "shielded" at all. It is simply in the sheath with the insulated conductors.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 06:35 AM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


bobs, this has only been asked 3,467,986 times.
Follow this link, the third thread shown is a good one, along with most others.
http://www.diychatroom.com/search.php?searchid=778256
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 11:36 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

10/2 w/ground for dryer?


Quote:
if my neutral and ground are not bonded on the dryer I wouldn't have to worry about touching the washer and dryer and lighting up like a light bulb would I?
There is a far greater chance of a fault to ground within the dryer. If that happens and it's ungrounded, you will light up.




Quote:
Bought a new dryer, came with four-prong plug and I've got a three-prong outlet. House bulit in '72. I may NOT be able to run a new line to it so by moving my old 3-wire plug, what do I wire eliminate on the back of the dryer? what is "bonding" that you mention?
Open the jbox cover on the back of the dryer. The middle terminal should somehow connect to the metal frame of the dryer. There is some kind of bond strap or green jumper wire that is supposed to be disconnected in a 4 wire installation and connected in a 3 wire installation.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to wire 10/2 on sub pelkins Electrical 13 03-08-2009 08:39 PM
have 50 feet of 10/2 w/g wire rsplash40 Electrical 12 12-15-2008 01:05 PM
10/2 or 10/3 SR996 Electrical 5 11-30-2008 06:46 PM
installing a subpanel from 10/2 wire. d_skutnik Electrical 7 10-08-2008 05:35 PM
Can i add a subpanel fed by 10/2 wire? qst4sno Electrical 25 04-25-2007 05:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.