Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2006, 08:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

10 or 12 guage


Here in Costa Rica what gauge romex should I purchase for house hold wiring, 10 or 12 guage. And what should I use to run 220 to my workshop (under ground) Not sure if it matters, but here the power is inconsistant with frequent outages.

tropic home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 02:19 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

10 or 12 guage


I can't imagine it is that different down there.
Use #12 & #14. #10 is used mainly for dryers and water heaters and that's it.

If you want to run a feeder to the garage use anything from #6 to #2 copper to the garage. It depends on what you want to do out there.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 07:58 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Default

10 or 12 guage


Is it better to go heavier? What would you run? #12 in the house, #10 to dryer and water heater, and #2 to the workshop? or is it overkill?

Thanks for the info
tropic home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 09:27 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

10 or 12 guage


Basically what you said. Except I run #14 for some general receptacles and pretty much ALL lighting. I keep circuits to 8 or so receptacles and lighting I keep on the "light" side so fixtures can be safely added to circuits later.
I'd rather run more #14 circuits than less #12 circuits.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 06:04 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Default

10 or 12 guage


Im not an electrician, but I always use 14 wire on 15 amp breakers and 12 on 20 amp breakers.
sjrhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 08:10 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Default

10 or 12 guage


I Need To Run Tempory Ele To A Shed If I Use 12g (&30 Amp Breaker) Wire At A Distance Of 180' What Size Motor Or Amps Can I Run With Out Hurting Motor
mike p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 10:08 AM   #7
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,198
Default

10 or 12 guage


You can't use a 12 gauge conductor on a 30 amp breaker.

15A = 14 gauge
20A = 12 gauge
30A = 10 gauge

and at 180' you probably shouldn't use 10 gauge either.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 06:58 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Default

10 or 12 guage


OK, I have had 12 gauge Romex shipped down in 2 and 3 wire and I am ready to start pulling. I will use 14 gauge to run from swithes to light fixtures, but plan on using 12 for the rest (8 or so recepticals on a 20 amp circuit?). For my instant water heaters (point of use) and dryer can I use the 3 wire to supply (2) 110 to provide 220? or do I need to run a heavier gauge.
I will be having a local Costa Ricain electrician helping me, but want to make sure this is up to N. American standards.
tropic home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:30 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

10 or 12 guage


In the us the "nominal" voltages are 120/240. Nominal means "the name we use" The actual voltage vaires alittle. I believe you are telling us the the nominal voltages are 110/220 where you live.

If the 220v appliance uses a neutral (stoves, and cloths dryers most often do) then you would run a 3 conductor cable plus ground. If the appliance does not need a neutral (water heaters usually do not) then you would run a two conductor cable plus ground. At the panel you will connect the two hot wires from the cable to a two pole breaker. Each pole is 110 to neutral, and they are 220 phase to phase.

Check the amperage of your water heaters, and dryer. Most of the ones where I live are 30 amps. If you are wiring to US standards you will need number 10 wire for those.

Also if you wire to US standards, you cannot run from the switch to the light using number 14 wire, if the fuse or breaker is 20 amps. If you have any 14 guage wire on the circuit it must be on a 15 amp breaker.

There is an exception for fixture wires, but people often get confused. Fixture wires do not leave the fixture box via the house wiring. That exception is for when a ceiling light, for example is hung from a chain, or for the wires to a fixture that do not leave the ceiling box at all.

The wires from the wall switch up to the ceiling box (or other wall box) must be the same full size as the rest of the circuit wires. (meaning not larger than the rating of the fuse or breaker allows.

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring electric heater in bathroom PatSea Electrical 5 01-06-2007 09:40 PM
14 guage splice into 20 amp 12 guage circuit OK Bakes5 Electrical 3 12-19-2005 08:41 PM
what guage?? Unregistered Electrical 3 11-21-2004 07:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.