Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2005, 11:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

1 switch, 3 lights? help?


I am working on a basement project. I installed 3 light fixtures and a single pole switch. I ran the feed to the first light, then the second, then the third, then the switch. When I flipped on the breaker, all lights powered on. As soon as I flipped the switch on the wall, the breaker tripped. If I put the swith back on the on position, the breaker does not trip, but I can not shut my lights on and off. Any help we be appreciated.

bexnfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 08:44 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,479
Default

1 switch, 3 lights? help?


How did you wire them up? tell me what wires went where and how the switch is wired

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 09-12-2005 at 08:44 AM. Reason: more info
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 10:25 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

1 switch, 3 lights? help?


I ran the the source to the first light, black to black, white to white for all 3 lights. After the 3rd light, I ran the white wire off the 3rd light to the switch and the black wire off the 3rd light to the swtich.
Thanks
bexnfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 10:59 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,479
Default

1 switch, 3 lights? help?


you created a short. You can not acceive what you want with the wire you have. Is it possible to take the hot to the switch and then to the lights? If not then you need to run 3 wires from the first light to the second light and to the third light. Let know which option you want to try before I spell it out for you.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 01:56 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

1 switch, 3 lights? help?


thanks. If I run the hot to the switch, then will my existing wiring be ok? if not, then I will run the 3 wire scheme.
Thanks for the help
bexnfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 02:17 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,479
Default

1 switch, 3 lights? help?


If you run the hot wire from the panel to the switch, connect the white wires together, the the black from the power to one side of the switch, and the black to the lights onto the other side of the switch.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 01:35 PM
4 switch box for 4 lights xxpinballxx Electrical 8 04-26-2007 08:51 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.