~1.5V/2.3V From What Source? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2011, 12:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

~1.5V/2.3V from what source?


I'm removing a rats nest of duct tape and wire run from a home exterior wall to what can be loosely called a shed. I only found one UF romex at 120, so that should be easy enough to box up, but there's also a set of three stranded #14 wires that are duct taped together. I'm getting ~1.5V and ~2.3V between a couple of the wires, and there's a string of what appear to be low voltage lights nearby. Is that voltage coming from those, or could it be coming from some of the spa equipment that still has an active and separate 120 line run to it?

Advertisement

omgwtfbyobbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 02:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

~1.5V/2.3V from what source?


If those lines are parallel to the active spa line, you could be reading phantom voltage. Are you using a digital meter or analog meter?

Advertisement

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 02:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

~1.5V/2.3V from what source?


That must be it. Too much impedance w/ my DMM causing unduction or capacitance in the other wire. Are the different voltages between different wires indicative of differing impedance/etc in the three inactive bundled wires, and is there any reason why one pair still reads zero voltage?

As a side note, w/ the dmm I also get about 1V less at the plugs on circuits that have a lot of receptacles/lights than one dedicated circuits (dishwasher, garbage disposal, ect), is this normal?

Edit- Doh! Of course it is since those branches are a lot longer than the short runs to the appliances.

Last edited by omgwtfbyobbq; 06-05-2011 at 03:35 PM.
omgwtfbyobbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 08:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

~1.5V/2.3V from what source?


Sounds like you've got it figured out. Good luck with future projects.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 03:54 AM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,573
Rewards Points: 2,042
Default

~1.5V/2.3V from what source?


Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtfbyobbq View Post
That must be it. Too much impedance w/ my DMM
Hey, somebody who actually understands phantom voltage readings! You got it. Try a light bulb in parallel with your meter, or a meter with a "low-Z" option.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing light fixture with no ground from source - help! lswenn Electrical 1 03-29-2011 07:52 AM
where to draw a source for a light fixture/switch snucky Electrical 12 07-26-2010 01:31 PM
Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas? PDubs Electrical 7 01-28-2009 05:37 AM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts