Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2013, 05:00 PM   #1
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 697
Share |
Default

1.5 watt vrs 6 watts?


Is the fan motor for the condenser on my old clunker fridge. I went to grainger for a replacement and what they were finding all listed a different mounting bracket system.
Then out of curiosity, He said, Let me grab one and look at it.
Turned out to be exactly what I needed and simply had a universal type mounting with more options.
So I said I will take it.

I get it home and fan blade installed and ready to hook it up, install it.
I notice that it is 115v 50/60 HZ 0.42 amp 6 watt
While the old one is 115v 50/60 HZ 0.25 amp 1.5 watt

We were just grabbing one to look at and I know they do have a 2 watt model, will really mean waiting until tomorrow to return it and will just be a pia.
What can I expect the difference to be with higher amp and watts?
Can I just use the one I have?
__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!

Last edited by funfool; 04-01-2013 at 05:39 PM.
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 05:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,819
Default

1.5 watt vrs 6 watts?


Trivial difference. You can use it.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
funfool (04-01-2013)
Old 04-01-2013, 05:43 PM   #3
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 697
Default

1.5 watt vrs 6 watts?


Thanks, I really felt it would be ok, Just wanted to hear it from someone else.
I do know they have something closer to watts and amps.
I already had to take off from work early today to remove it and pick up the new motor.
Would mean taking more time off tomorrow to exchange it.
I called grainger and they said was not a electrician, but thought with higher amps it may use a little more electricity.
__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a 150 watt bulb in an outdoor lampost that says max 100 dan123 Electrical 8 08-31-2012 09:37 PM
15.2 watt ballast /20 watt bulbs pbr2424 Electrical 0 08-15-2012 02:55 PM
Demand Load Calculations sirsparksalot Electrical 6 05-10-2011 05:42 PM
timer requires a 40 watt min. load, I only have 10...now what? glassbird Electrical 3 08-18-2010 11:32 AM
Watts up with HD's product line? KE2KB Plumbing 2 03-25-2009 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.