Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2006, 03:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Zone system not working with heat.


I have a 4 zone controller (RCS Model ZC4) with three zones currently set up. My HVAC system is a standard forced air Heating-A/C system (no heat pump). There are 3 RiteTemp 8050 thermostats connected to the controller and a single 12" damper on each zone. The system works perfectly with A/C, but it's giving me trouble with the heat.

I can connect everything and the system runs for a few days, but then it quits. None of the thermostats will start the heat until I remove the wiring and then reconnect everything. I can bypass the zone controller by connecting one of the thermostats to the HVAC wires and it works without zoning so I know it's not the HVAC system.

Has anyone experienced this and/or have any ideas of where to go next?

TIA!

deliriousga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 03:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Default

Zone system not working with heat.


Your zone control is going into lock out mode...........as far as why, well thats anyones guess.

acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 04:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Zone system not working with heat.


I've been reading about putting in a "dump zone" to keep from creating back pressure when only one zone is open. I don't have one so is that something that would cause a zone controller to go into lock out mode? I can add one pretty easily in a room we don't use if needed.
deliriousga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 04:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

Zone system not working with heat.


How old is the system?
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 04:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Zone system not working with heat.


The house was built in '96. It's a Ruud system (2 ton I think). The same system is on the third floor with one thermostat and no problems. Since I'm finishing the basement, I added ducts and put the zone in to help even out the air flow.
deliriousga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 06:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: grand rapids
Posts: 124
Default

Zone system not working with heat.


does your zone control panel have a light that blinks any codes or stays on. the zone controler is most likely locking out.next time it goes out try reseting the power to the damper system and see if that restarts it. remember to get the flashing codes first if your zone controler has a led.

trollmastergeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gurgling in baseboard heat system jpg HVAC 1 02-22-2007 06:56 PM
Wiring of my two-zone system not working correctly AMontemagni HVAC 3 01-27-2007 12:07 PM
heat pump not working kyleGR HVAC 2 05-30-2006 02:35 PM
baseboard heat upstairs not working TraceyLee HVAC 1 10-23-2005 05:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.