Zone And Boiler Run For Seconds - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 11:45 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Zone and boiler run for seconds


So I was in the basement redoing some wiring...and I hear a zone valve open (I am working almost on top of the boiler). It's the basement zone calling for heat, the valve opens, and closes maybe ten seconds later. My Taco controller box has the light for the thermostat call out after the run as well. No way in ten seconds was there any change in area temperature....

Then maybe an hour later, the boiler fires on. Runs for about ten seconds, then shuts off. Wasn't near enough to the Taco box to see what was going on.

Is this normal behavior? If not, what gives do you think? Just me in the house, so no DHW being used either.

Advertisement

__________________
Pardon any typos, my IPad has a mind of it's own for spelling corrections!
dougp23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 01:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Zone and boiler run for seconds


I should add:

The system is about six months old, so brand new.

If I turn a thermostat up, it functions perfectly. Zone valve opens and stays open, boiler fires and stays running. Seems like it might be a twitchy thermostat, that goes on, and then a few seconds later, changes it's mind and shuts everything off....

Hope that clarifies things!

Advertisement

__________________
Pardon any typos, my IPad has a mind of it's own for spelling corrections!
dougp23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 03:00 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Zone and boiler run for seconds


if the stat is digital might of been some feed back into the zone valve calling in the boiler...remove the stat for the actual zone, and do a test jump from R to W to see the actions opening the zone on a jump and it closing removing the jump.the zone valve action controls the boiler control thru an end switch if you have AUX wires from it...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:58 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,525
Rewards Points: 4,688
Default

Zone and boiler run for seconds


Miss wired some where.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Three zone heat oil boiler Dee001 HVAC 0 11-11-2011 09:12 PM
What would happen if I make a 5 zone boiler into a one zone? Need advice h82diet HVAC 9 10-17-2011 10:36 PM
Super Hot Boiler - zone problem jromero816 HVAC 5 12-28-2010 12:59 PM
Boiler one zone call heat but not fire up Ballastar Plumbing 6 02-13-2010 12:17 AM
Boiler heating zone not working properly ssevern HVAC 5 12-19-2009 07:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts