Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2014, 05:30 PM   #31
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Get a new pressure switch soon as it is actually a safety device. If it is inaccurate then the burner may not get enough air and become dangerous. The switch proves enough air and draft for safe combustion and needs to be accurate and reliable.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 05:57 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


New pressure switch has been ordered. Should be here by late next week. When I reinstall it should I mount it vertical(originally how it was) or horizontal? Does it matter? Thanks.
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 07:57 PM   #33
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


put it the way you found it vertical.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 06:59 AM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Woke up last night to the furnace acting up again(it is almost like an alarm clock to me at this point) with the pressure switch stuck open. Took Voltage readings on the pressure switch while the inducer was on. Checked on the side I know should always have 24V was good. Checked the other side and there was nothing. Gave the pressure switch a few good firm taps with a screw driver and presto it works again. I also ordered a manometer(same one that yuri has) to help troubleshoot this further since the only way to really figure this out is to know what the pressure draw is and if it is too low. Manometer should be here on Tuesday hopefully. May need some help setting it up but will give it a shot first. Stay tuned. I do know for sure that this furnace does not want me to get a good nights sleep as it seems to only act up in the middle of the night.
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 07:12 AM   #35
Hvac pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Generally the colder it gets the lower your vacuum pressure will be which could explain having more issues at night. I think your going to wind up finding your draft inducer as the culprit.
aa7483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 07:22 AM   #36
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Yeah, the cold air is denser which slows down the ventor fan. Still cheaper to buy a manometer than pay someone to do it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 11:24 AM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Received UEI EM201B manometer this afternoon! Furnace has been acting up at night only for the last few days. After a few good firm taps with a screw driver against the pressure switch everything will work until the next night.

So I hooked up the hose that goes to the inducer up to the + port of the manometer and hooked up the hose that goes to the combustion chamber to the - port of the manometer. Zeroed out the manometer and put it on In-WG(Inches water gauge) for the scale.

Turned furnace on and the manometer is reading -1.85(fluctuating to -1.84, -1.86 at times). I did this three separate times and all three times were the same.

The pressure switch is rated -1.20 PF. So this should be plenty to close it correct? Is there any other tests I should try at the moment? Only thing I can think of at the moment is to check the pressure throughout the day as it gets closer to night to see if it is dropping. I am not sure what this inducer is rated for but I would think that all depends on your intake and exhaust run as well.

Thanks.
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 02:31 PM   #38
Hvac pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Looks to me like your inducer is weak. You should see more than that . And on a colder day when it's windy it may be getting down low enough to knock the pressure switch out. If you want to ensure your venting system is not the culprit disconnect the vent pipe and start the inducer. Disconnect the pressure switch first so the flames don't ignite. Take a reading with the pipe out. If it's astronomically higher there is a problem with venting. If only marginally higher it's your inducer.
aa7483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 03:29 PM   #39
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,578
Rewards Points: 2,836
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


That should be enough to close it.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
divergent (03-01-2014), hvactech126 (03-10-2014)
Old 02-25-2014, 03:49 PM   #40
Hvac pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Should be enough but on a windy day or on a cold night it may be dropping too low intermittently. Usually like to see it above 2. I was working on one a few months ago started out 1.8 to 1.9. After running for a while it dropped below the 1.20 mark .
aa7483 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to aa7483 For This Useful Post:
divergent (03-01-2014)
Old 02-25-2014, 04:57 PM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


I forgot to take off the PVC T on the outside exhaust before I took the manometer measurements. I took off the T and now the manometer reads about -1.94(In-WG). I did get the new pressure switch today as well and have installed that to make sure it works okay. I am going to hold off on taking the inducer off as it is such a pain because of where the bolts are. I will check the pressure readings later tonight and before I go to bed to see if anything changes. In a way I am hoping to see something change with the pressure but in another way I am not as I don't feel like spending even more money on an inducer motor.

Will keep you all updated.

As always i appreciate everyone's help.
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 05:08 PM   #42
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Set your alarm clock and do a test at night is the only way 2 know. That is enough to close the switch easily.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 07:53 AM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Update.

I checked the manometer readings again after my last post and it read -1.8 again. I must have forgotten to zero out the manometer when I had read the -1.94 before.

I checked it again a couple times at night once at 9pm and once at 10pm. Both readings were -1.77 to -1.8.

Checked it again at 4am and still at the -1.77 and -1.8.

Checked it again this morning at 7am and same readings -1.77 to -1.8

At this point all I can really do is wait and see if it happens again and then put the manometer on it if it does happen to see if the pressure is changing.

Any other suggestions before I reset the history on the control board and let it run for a few days?

Thanks!
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 08:08 AM   #44
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


remove and flush the condensate trap with warm water and bleach. if it is not draining fast enough then it will back up water into the secondary heat exchanger and trip the switch.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
divergent (03-01-2014)
Old 02-26-2014, 02:24 PM   #45
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Cleaned out condensation trap again with warm water and bleach. I also did this a few weeks ago and didn't see anything unusually. Some small specs of crud or dirt but nothing big. So far the furnace has been running good with no issues since the pressure switch has been changed out. Unless there are some other suggestions I will continue to just monitor it. Thanks again for everyone's help so far!

divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
well pressure switch NJ Lady Plumbing 32 12-16-2013 03:48 PM
Open pressure switch on furnace Dale0202 HVAC 4 01-26-2011 10:35 PM
No Heat: Pressure switch & Hoses forming traps Yooperman906 HVAC 22 01-04-2011 09:52 AM
Weatherking pressure switch stuck closed error code bobnorman76 HVAC 0 12-18-2010 09:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.