Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2014, 12:05 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Thanks for the responses guys. I have two pressure switches at the moment. The original and the replacement. I have the replacement one back on right now after I had tapped it on the cement floor a few times. I know it probably doesn't matter but I was sucking on the hose very lightly. Not at full strength. Just seems odd that it wouldn't close at all per the ohm test and now it closes okay after tapping it on the cement floor.

As for the extra PVC pipe outside. So stick a 6" straight off the exhaust pipe and then put the T on pointed up and down?

Any suggestions on a manometer I could order online? I need to get one that comes with T's and tubes so i can test it properly.

Thanks again for everyone's help.

divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:13 PM   #17
Hvac pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


That's good advice on yuris part. It doesn't matter if your doing it lightly or not. Those diagrams are meant to operate as stated and aren't designed to withstand much more than there rating. Your putting an uncontrolled and undetermined load on it.
aa7483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:20 PM   #18
Hvac pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


I use this. Works well. http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000OUV2D0
aa7483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:35 PM   #19
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


I would put the tee on and order a new pressure switch. Yours has 2 ports on it so you need a 2 port differential pressure manometer which is more expensive. Try what I said and you can save some $$ on a manometer.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:35 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Thanks aa7483. Would this one work with my type of pressure switch that has two hoses? Or would I just hook up this manometer straight to the inducer motor to see what its pressure draw is and go from there?

The pressure switch is rated -1.20 PF and has one hose going to the inducer motor and one to the combustion chamber(see earlier post).

Thanks.
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:37 PM   #21
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


I looked up mine, a UEI em 201
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:38 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Thanks yuri. I will give the T a shot. Should I put a 6inch piece on the exhaust first and then put the T pipe on? Thanks!
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:41 PM   #23
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


you need a 6" piece of pipe to go in your exhaust elbow and stick into the side of the T. imagine this T turned 1/4 turn clockwise. google that manometer if you want and Amazon has some. also make sure the condensate is draining from the furnace properly and the drain line is not kinked. the condensate trap may need to be flushed with warm water and bleach also. if the condensate does not drain fast enough then it can backup in the secondary heat exchanger and cause press switch tripping problems.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 02-21-2014 at 12:43 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:43 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Yuri,

I found these two pressure switches on amazon

http://www.amazon.com/UEi-EM201-Diff...rds=UEI+em+201

http://www.amazon.com/UEi-EM201B-Inp...rds=UEI+em+201

Where did you get your T's from and tubing for this meter?

I am not going this route at the moment but just want to have it in case I need to go this route.

Thanks.
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:49 PM   #25
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


the manometer is expensive but built like a tank and heavy duty so Pros use it. the tee and pipe I would try get from a local HVAC shop or pexsupply.com but the pipe comes in 8 foot lengths. HDepot may have white pvc and the tee from pexsupply or HDepot. the tubing you can get from a autoparts store, vacuum line tubing. all you do is pull off the tubing from the switch and hook it up to the manometer and start the furnace and it will run for 30 seconds before locking out. you can get plastic tees from the auto parts store for vacuum tubing and tee it in if you want to watch it while running but that may not be necessary just to see the vacuum at startup.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 01:13 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Thanks again yuri. I will see if the local hardware store has some short 2" PVC and the Tee.

One more question. Should the pressure switch be mounted vertically or horizontally? Does it make any difference? Currently mine is mounted vertically which is how it was during original install(see first pictures).

Thanks.
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 02:40 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


I can't get out to the store until tonight or tomorrow. Just for the heck of it I wanted to see which pipe all the wind was coming in since I could hear it very well right by the furnace. I assumed it was coming in the exhaust since that one is pointed out(see previous pictures). I taped the exhaust closed temporarily and went back inside. To my surprise I still heard the wind coming in. I tapped off the intake which is pointed down and then wind noises stopped. Not sure how the wind is going UP the intake pipe. Should I still continue with the T on the exhaust pipe? Would the wind coming in the intake cause any issues? Thanks.
divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 03:05 PM   #28
Hvac pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Wind coming in the intake could cause some turbulence in the flames but a back draft in the exhaust would cause the issue your having.
aa7483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 05:20 PM   #29
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Yeah, wind coming in is not a problem but the ventor having to work extra hard against the exhaust can cause your problem. Sound transmits thru those pipes so that is not a great way to diagnose problems.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 05:21 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting


Alright. So I put on the extra 6inch PVC and T on the exhaust(see picture). Seems to be working so far. Although, the furnace has been working most of the day ever since I tapped the pressure switch on the cement floor. Winds have been the same since last night. Will give this a shot for a few days to see if it changes anything. This has run for almost 5 days straight sometimes with no issues and then it will act up again. Today was the first day that the pressure switch was refusing to close no matter what I did(except tap it on the floor)Will hopefully update with good news. Thanks for everyone's help!
Attached Thumbnails
York Furnace pressure switch stuck open troubleshooting-img_7426.jpg  

divergent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
well pressure switch NJ Lady Plumbing 32 12-16-2013 03:48 PM
Open pressure switch on furnace Dale0202 HVAC 4 01-26-2011 10:35 PM
No Heat: Pressure switch & Hoses forming traps Yooperman906 HVAC 22 01-04-2011 09:52 AM
Weatherking pressure switch stuck closed error code bobnorman76 HVAC 0 12-18-2010 09:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.