Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2007, 08:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

York Furnace flame stays on only 5 seconds


We have a York Diamond 80 model pidub12nob001a. The jets fire up for only 5 seconds and then turn off. The blower then runs. I have checked the filter and it is ok any suggestions?

Thank you!

PatJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 08:57 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

York Furnace flame stays on only 5 seconds


I powered it down for 15 minutes and dusted out the furnace. It seems to working now. ANy suggestions regarding what could have caused this? What I may need to have done to the furnace?

Thank you for your replies in advance!

PatJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 08:23 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dayton Ohio [USA]
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via ICQ to Furnace_dude Send a message via AIM to Furnace_dude
Default

York Furnace flame stays on only 5 seconds


the problem is easy to fix and will occur again. however, what needs to be done is not clear to me as i am not in front of the furnace. it could range from a simple cleaning to an expansive repair of several hundred dollars.
Furnace_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 09:18 AM   #4
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

York Furnace flame stays on only 5 seconds


Hi PatJo

It sounds like the problem you originally had was a dirty flame sensor or a burner was not igniting and causing lockout. I would definately reccomend having the furnace serviced, especially if it has been several years since it was serviced.

Good luck
Rusty

Last edited by #CARRIERMAN; 01-22-2007 at 09:16 AM.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 09:25 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dayton Ohio [USA]
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via ICQ to Furnace_dude Send a message via AIM to Furnace_dude
Default

York Furnace flame stays on only 5 seconds


Quote:
Originally Posted by #CARRIERMAN View Post
Hi PatJo

It sound like the problem you originally had was a dirty flame sensor or a burner was not igniting and causing lockout. I would definately reccomend having the furnace serviced, especially if it has been several years since it was serviced.

Good luck
Rusty
dusting the furnace would not really 'clean' the flame sensor unless patjo actually cleaned it, but that would appear to be the problem, unless the sensor and or lead is bad, the ground may be getting weak and or the IFC going out, hard to tell
Furnace_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
Whirlpool Furnace - Burners cycle every 10 to 20 Seconds agtsrbt HVAC 3 02-06-2007 04:39 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM
weatherking furnace blower runs continuously rayborj HVAC 4 12-08-2006 02:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.