Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2012, 02:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

York Diamond80 'C' terminal


Hello,

I need a 'C' (24V) wire for my new t-stat. Currently, only 4 wires are coming into my old t-stat (W, R, Y, G). Since the conduit has at least two more unused wires, I suppose it shouldn't be a problem to use one of them to bring the 24V in from the York.

When I look at the York's terminals I see the 'C' terminal with no wires attached. How can I verify I am getting 24V on it? Basically, where do I apply voltmeter probes?

Thank you!

dimka2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:50 PM   #2
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

York Diamond80 'C' terminal


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimka2000 View Post
Hello,

I need a 'C' (24V) wire for my new t-stat. Currently, only 4 wires are coming into my old t-stat (W, R, Y, G). Since the conduit has at least two more unused wires, I suppose it shouldn't be a problem to use one of them to bring the 24V in from the York.

When I look at the York's terminals I see the 'C' terminal with no wires attached. How can I verify I am getting 24V on it? Basically, where do I apply voltmeter probes?

Thank you!
C on the furnace is a neutral or return. R is hot or 24volts.

Connect one of the unused leads to the furnace C and the other end of the lead to C on the stat. Make sure furnace is OFF!!!!!

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

York Diamond80 'C' terminal


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
C on the furnace is a neutral or return. R is hot or 24volts.
Connect one of the unused leads to the furnace C and the other end of the lead to C on the stat. Make sure furnace is OFF!!!!!
Wow, that's a fast reply! Thanks a bunch!
So, to clarify, if I measure between C and R terminals, I should get 24V at all times, right?
dimka2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:57 PM   #4
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

York Diamond80 'C' terminal


yep.



$750.. please
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:56 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

York Diamond80 'C' terminal


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
yep.

$750.. please

ah-ha, so the membership is free, but the payments are per case?

btw, I got nothing when trying to measure between C and R, with or without panel switch depressed..... what am I doing wrong?
dimka2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 05:13 PM   #6
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Default

York Diamond80 'C' terminal


Make sure your meter is set to AC volts, not DC!


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimka2000 View Post
ah-ha, so the membership is free, but the payments are per case?

btw, I got nothing when trying to measure between C and R, with or without panel switch depressed..... what am I doing wrong?
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:08 PM   #7
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

York Diamond80 'C' terminal


D-ohhhh
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 05:34 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

York Diamond80 'C' terminal


Quote:
Originally Posted by raylo32 View Post
Make sure your meter is set to AC volts, not DC!
thanks Raylo32! that's what it was!
dimka2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 05:34 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

York Diamond80 'C' terminal


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
D-ohhhh
dohhh indeed thanks for the help!

dimka2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compressor terminal post wiring connector came apart - remnant still sticking to post justplumducky HVAC 11 07-06-2011 08:04 PM
Heat but no A/C with new thermostat myqhenry HVAC 15 05-30-2011 10:53 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
York or Trane? koz HVAC 1 05-26-2010 05:42 AM
"G" terminal on Tstats javan HVAC 8 02-08-2009 02:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.