Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2011, 01:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


I have a York Diamond 90 updraft furnace in the basement and it stopped working this morning.
I tried to troubleshoot the problem:
1. The DRAFT INDUCER MOTOR starts running but the furnace will not come on.
2. I see 3 flashes of the led on the control board which means that the pressure switch is open.
3. I saw that the pressure switch has two tubes connected, one to the DRAFT INDUCER MOTOR and one to the burner box, I checked both tubes connections, the one connected to the DRAFT INDUCER MOTOR is blocked by default (the motor side has the connection but when inserting a screw driver there I felt itís blocked) I looked at the other size connected to the burner box and cleaned it.
4. I briefly pulled the tube from the burned box and pushed air inside and the pressure switch closed.
5. The DRAFT INDUCER MOTOR is running as I can see.
6. I have two pipes from the furnace going outside, one connected to the DRAFT INDUCER MOTOR and the other to the burner box, from what I can understand the DRAFT INDUCER MOTOR pulls air from the outside through the burner box and relief the pressure from the from the other pipe ( am I correct), I cleaned both with vacuum cleaner, I felt strong suction from each side when connected the vacuum to the other pipe.

Where do I go from here?
Can it be that the DRAFT INDUCER MOTOR is bad and not sucking enough air from the outside?

The DRAFT INDUCER MOTOR is A165 Fasco

items is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 03:31 PM   #2
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


I don't think there would be a reason to have a hose connected to your Inducer assy (I'm assuming you are talking about the fan compartment of the inducer motor) without it being functional. Even if a screwwdriver stops when inserted, the hole through to the inducer fan comp may be offset. Try exploring with a straightened paper clip to see if it can be cleared. Try using one of those hoses to blow into that inducer fan hose connection.
Make sure the hose doesn't have a connected t fitting going to your pressure switch when you blow through the hose or that air pressure may damage your pressure switch.

how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
items (12-17-2011)
Old 12-17-2011, 03:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


I tried what you suggested.
I connected a small pipe to the motor and tried to blow air inside, it's completely blocked, I tried with paper clip no luck.
The pressure switch has two connections, one to the motor and the other to the burner box
items is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 03:48 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,575
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


when the stat CALLS... the ID comes ON... then the PSI switch CLOSES.the control board is looking for that sequence any interuption you get the flash fault the pressure switch proofs that the ID is running and supplying air into the burner are the tubes connected to where you removed them might be backwards...onto the switch
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
items (12-17-2011)
Old 12-17-2011, 03:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


Yes, the tubes are connected to the right place, there are labels on the pressure switch that specify where to connect to.
One motor, the other burner box.
items is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 04:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


Might take a small drill bit to clear the port on the inducer. Those deposits are very hard.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
items (12-17-2011)
Old 12-17-2011, 04:56 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


You where right, I took a screwdriver and pushed it hard inside, now it starts fine, thanks to you all for your help.
Just a quick question, the inducer fan is making a noise now, I assume because the deposits I pushed in are stuck inside.
I'm planning to take it apart tomorrow morning, see if I can remove the blades and clear this hole.
Any tips on how to remove the blades, when I opened it earlier I saw there is a spring on the shaft
items is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 06:14 PM   #8
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


Usually the access is through the removal of the whole motor/fan & assy from the furnace but you'll probably need a new gasket to replace the old gasket that will come apart when you do this.
I don't know about the spring on the shaft that you describe. Usually there is just a set screw that binds the squirrel cage to the motor shaft.

Is there a drain line at the bottom of the inducer fan assy which might allow the debris to fall out?
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 06:59 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


Yes there is a drain line.
I think I will buy a new motor and install it, it is safer than if it will break in the middle of the winter.
items is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:50 PM   #10
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


I think you'll find buying the whole inducer assy a better idea if you decide to go ahead with having a spare on hand or changing the motor. Those fan cages can really bind onto the motor shafts and it doesn't take much to warp them out of shape when trying to remove them.
Personally I'd be waiting a few days to see if that little piece of debris might find a quieter place to settle. If the debris is caught in the fan fin or the screwdriver damaged a fin then it will unbalance the wheel and vibration/noice and wear will result.

Last edited by how; 12-17-2011 at 07:57 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 06:40 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


When replacing the inducer motor I need to seal between the motor and the vent.
What do I use, I understand it needs to be gas rated, can someone point me to what to purchase in homedepot?
items is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 07:14 AM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,349
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


red high temp rtv silicone. not sure if HD has it but some auto parts stores may as it may be useful for engines. otherwise U get it at HVAC supplier.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 01:18 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


Just another quick question, I would like to take the opportunity to replace the igniter, in the furnace, it's 11 years and was never replaced.
I was reading the Silicon Nitride are very good replacement:
Do I need to plug them in as they are?
Which one should I buy, Honeywel Glowfly Universal Ignition or White Rodgers 21D64-2 120v Silicon Nitride Upgrade Kit?
items is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 10:21 AM   #14
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


Quote:
Originally Posted by items View Post
Just another quick question, I would like to take the opportunity to replace the igniter, in the furnace, it's 11 years and was never replaced.
I was reading the Silicon Nitride are very good replacement:
Do I need to plug them in as they are?
Which one should I buy, Honeywel Glowfly Universal Ignition or White Rodgers 21D64-2 120v Silicon Nitride Upgrade Kit?
I did seen lowes is selling the honeywell. But look on back for the box for the brand furnace you need and model
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 10:57 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

York Diamond 90 furnace not starting


OK, thanks, but my question was different.

items is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
York Stellar Furnace - help me find my ignitor pmandra HVAC 3 02-17-2012 07:50 AM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
York furnace problems WHM08 HVAC 6 04-10-2011 07:41 PM
No heat -- york Diamond 80 & LUX TX9000ts drammo HVAC 4 03-02-2011 09:46 AM
Goodman furnace not starting cathyfc HVAC 1 10-05-2005 11:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.