Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 01:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

york diamond 80 new never installed, burners won't stay lit


I just installed this unit after having it for several years. It is a downflow model. Normal cycle begins, but after burners light they shut off. I cleaned and even changed the flame sensor from another unit but with no luck. I tried jumping all the sensors, nothing changed. I am getting the 7 flash error code that is the failure to ignite. I am not a professional just have some experience with my rental homes. I bought this unit at a frieght salvage sale. It had a few dings, but nothing major. I have installed several of these and this is the first I have had problem with. The gas line is new from the meter. I have read in other places including the manual that I could be getting low gas pressure????? could there be a problem with the meter or line? I hooked up only the red white wire to the thermostat, could this be an issue? any help with be greatly appreciated!


Last edited by bsmith23; 12-21-2011 at 01:29 AM. Reason: added more content
bsmith23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:25 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

york diamond 80 new never installed, burners won't stay lit


ow gas pressure could be the problem. But it could also be a bad ground to the furnace.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

york diamond 80 new never installed, burners won't stay lit


Quote:
Originally Posted by bsmith23 View Post
I just installed this unit after having it for several years. It is a downflow model. Normal cycle begins, but after burners light they shut off. I cleaned and even changed the flame sensor from another unit but with no luck. I tried jumping all the sensors, nothing changed. I am getting the 7 flash error code that is the failure to ignite. I am not a professional just have some experience with my rental homes. I bought this unit at a frieght salvage sale. It had a few dings, but nothing major. I have installed several of these and this is the first I have had problem with. The gas line is new from the meter. I have read in other places including the manual that I could be getting low gas pressure????? could there be a problem with the meter or line? I hooked up only the red white wire to the thermostat, could this be an issue? any help with be greatly appreciated!
Is the unit properly grounded? if so then you have a bad ignition board.


Sorry beenthere........dident see your post before i posted.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 01:50 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

york diamond 80 new never installed, burners won't stay lit


No problem.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:47 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

york diamond 80 new never installed, burners won't stay lit


I checked for bad ground this morning after your suggestions. I was thinking I might find that the green wire was not hooked up, which I would have been surprised that made any difference since it is just a reduntant neutral anyway. When I opened up the connection box I realized that my helper was the one who hooked up the wiring and we used a power cord to plug it in instead of hard wiring it. So when I noticed this it hit me, he didn't trace the hot and neutral leads from the outlet to the furnace, because I tried switching them and it fired right up! I knew that I had read if this happened the unit would be shut down, but I assumed it wouldn't make it this far down the start up sequence. Thanks for your help, saved me a service call!
bsmith23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:58 PM   #6
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

york diamond 80 new never installed, burners won't stay lit


I was just explaining that to a kid at school tonight about newer units with boards in them being polarity sensitive!

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
York Diamond 80 Furnace won't start bobjay HVAC 1 12-01-2011 06:30 PM
York Diamond 80- Error code flashes 7 times apclyps HVAC 7 01-04-2011 04:30 PM
Burners wont stay on mrjacksonc HVAC 1 11-04-2010 05:58 AM
Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit Marie1313 HVAC 38 10-08-2009 05:38 PM
Furnace burners flame out after a few seconds snurb HVAC 3 01-13-2009 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.