Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2009, 11:31 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Needs cleaning every single year. Keep your fabric softener out of the furnace area. Fumes from it corrode the sensor rapidly.
Thanks for that info. However just to note the fact that my furnace is 11 years old and this is the first time I have cleaned this ! ! !

user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 05:07 AM   #32
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by user View Post
Thanks for that info. However just to note the fact that my furnace is 11 years old and this is the first time I have cleaned this ! ! !
You don't really have to change the oil in your car every 3 to 5000 miles either.

It just won't work as well if you push it too long.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 10:13 AM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
You don't really have to change the oil in your car every 3 to 5000 miles either.

It just won't work as well if you push it too long.
LOL....;-)

Liked your analogy. Now It will be first thing on my list.

Thanks.
user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 09:38 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Seems to be a useful thread and hope it will help others.
Setdyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 06:25 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


I also have a York diamond furnace.There is no heat, and I went looking around and the control board is flashing the 5 error code, which the book says is the rollout switch is tripped. I'd like to give a reset a try before a service call. After looking all around the area of the burner, and the electronic valve that controls the gas flow, there is no manual reset switch to be seen. Can you guys give me a pointer that might get me through a cold night?
jmann444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 06:35 PM   #36
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Check the sides and the top of the burner.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:27 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


there is an off/on switch on the electronic gas valve, nothing else that I see.
jmann444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 05:01 AM   #38
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Post pics of the burner area. Can tell you where they are then.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 12:20 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by user View Post
Just want to give a feed back on the diag. When I checked the flashing of LED on the main board, it was 7 flashing then break. Called in local York tech to find out if the solonoid is readily available. Per him they do not cell solonoid coils for gas furnace. Entire gas valve needs to be replaced.

Let me give my rational for why I was thinking about the coils. I had similar issue on my gas dryer which will start up for few seconds and then the flame will go away. Igniter will turn red hot but gas will not ignite. I fixed this problem by replacing the solonoid coils and it is working fine. So I jumped to this conclusion.

However talking to one of my friend he suggested to clean the "Flame sensor" (This is on the left side, igniter being on the right) Cleaning this sensor did the trick.

Now I have a heat in the house.

Thanks for Internet and such forums that some one else having similar issue can resolve it in future.

As a maintenance, this sensor needs to be clean ever 2 years or so.

I know this thread is old but I just wanted to say thank you. My furnace had been doing exactly what you described and I temporarily solved it by leaving the fan running all the time. Once I cleaned the sensor it fired the fan right up on it's own.

Thanks!

iwalkbarefoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error 4 red flashes, furnace limit switches, furnace repair help, york 80 series


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
York 650.77-N2U flame was lost 5 times vapourit HVAC 1 10-25-2009 08:35 AM
Main blower is very slow on York Diamond 90 dnastrau HVAC 5 08-01-2009 01:11 AM
York Diamond 90 Issues SToronto HVAC 1 03-09-2008 08:35 PM
York Diamond 90 heater Rob P198 HVAC 1 01-26-2008 08:11 PM
York Furnace flame stays on only 5 seconds PatJo HVAC 4 01-19-2007 09:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.