Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2009, 06:57 PM   #16
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,356
Share |
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Check all your wiring. Follow it back from the motor to the board and check for loose wires.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 07:22 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Check all your wiring. Follow it back from the motor to the board and check for loose wires.

Did that and nothing no rotation. I know the motor is not ceased up because I can spin the spinner with my hand. Everything else is working like it should. I get green light from the board flashing like it should until the flame turns on, then the amber light and then the limit high limit switch opens up high.
Setdyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 07:49 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,356
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


1) If you have A/C put the thermostat fan switch to ON and see if the motor runs or turn the A/C on. 2)You need to follow the wiring diagram, figure out which motor wire is for the heating speed, unplug it and check for 110 volts there when the burner is running. If no voltage then the board is bad. Make sure all the wires from the motor including the white are connected properly. If it has a white molex electrical connector unplug and replug it in and make sure all the wires are pushed in to the connector. You can also stick your meter probe there to check for the 110 volts.

Last edited by yuri; 11-14-2009 at 07:51 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 08:31 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
1) If you have A/C put the thermostat fan switch to ON and see if the motor runs or turn the A/C on. 2)You need to follow the wiring diagram, figure out which motor wire is for the heating speed, unplug it and check for 110 volts there when the burner is running. If no voltage then the board is bad. Make sure all the wires from the motor including the white are connected properly. If it has a white molex electrical connector unplug and replug it in and make sure all the wires are pushed in to the connector. You can also stick your meter probe there to check for the 110 volts.
Ok I will do this and let you know what happens.
Setdyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 10:03 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
1) If you have A/C put the thermostat fan switch to ON and see if the motor runs or turn the A/C on. 2)You need to follow the wiring diagram, figure out which motor wire is for the heating speed, unplug it and check for 110 volts there when the burner is running. If no voltage then the board is bad. Make sure all the wires from the motor including the white are connected properly. If it has a white molex electrical connector unplug and replug it in and make sure all the wires are pushed in to the connector. You can also stick your meter probe there to check for the 110 volts.
It runs with AC on but very slow.
Setdyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 07:40 AM   #21
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,356
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Sounds like it needs a new capacitor and possibly a new motor. Try Graingers for the capacitor.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:45 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Sounds like it needs a new capacitor and possibly a new motor. Try Graingers for the capacitor.
Ok so the fact that it is working with the AC and not the furnace means I only have an issue with the capacitor and not the board. I hope this is will correct things.

Thanks or your help. I have a local guy who I have been getting my parts from so I am sure he will have this one as well.

Thanks. Yuri
Setdyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 09:49 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Sounds like it needs a new capacitor and possibly a new motor. Try Graingers for the capacitor.
YURI,

I replaced the CAP ($8.59) and the unit fired up. All is running well now.
Setdyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 05:58 PM   #24
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,356
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Alls Well that ends Well.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:15 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Alls Well that ends Well.
Thanks
Setdyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 07:06 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Hi Yuri,
I have similar problem on my York Diamond 80 Furnace. Couple of yeasr back I did replace flame igniter and it was ok till this morning. Now I have flame coming in for few seconds and going away. Flame igniter remains red hot after a while flame returns and remains lit for anothe few seconds and then extinguishes. I pulled the top cover out and was observing this cycle. I did feel the click on the top of solonoid coil. Which indicates it is getting proper signal to open up. when the flame comes on. I am thinking replacing solonoid coils. What do you think?
user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 07:11 AM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,542
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Restriction in vent system.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 07:23 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Restriction in vent system.
No checked that. I can feel good amount of air blow from the furthest register. The air is cold though.
user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 09:51 AM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Just want to give a feed back on the diag. When I checked the flashing of LED on the main board, it was 7 flashing then break. Called in local York tech to find out if the solonoid is readily available. Per him they do not cell solonoid coils for gas furnace. Entire gas valve needs to be replaced.

Let me give my rational for why I was thinking about the coils. I had similar issue on my gas dryer which will start up for few seconds and then the flame will go away. Igniter will turn red hot but gas will not ignite. I fixed this problem by replacing the solonoid coils and it is working fine. So I jumped to this conclusion.

However talking to one of my friend he suggested to clean the "Flame sensor" (This is on the left side, igniter being on the right) Cleaning this sensor did the trick.

Now I have a heat in the house.

Thanks for Internet and such forums that some one else having similar issue can resolve it in future.

As a maintenance, this sensor needs to be clean ever 2 years or so.
user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:53 PM   #30
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,356
Default

York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame


Needs cleaning every single year. Keep your fabric softener out of the furnace area. Fumes from it corrode the sensor rapidly.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error 4 red flashes, furnace limit switches, furnace repair help, york 80 series


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
York 650.77-N2U flame was lost 5 times vapourit HVAC 1 10-25-2009 08:35 AM
Main blower is very slow on York Diamond 90 dnastrau HVAC 5 08-01-2009 01:11 AM
York Diamond 90 Issues SToronto HVAC 1 03-09-2008 08:35 PM
York Diamond 90 heater Rob P198 HVAC 1 01-26-2008 08:11 PM
York Furnace flame stays on only 5 seconds PatJo HVAC 4 01-19-2007 09:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.