Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2010, 12:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Share |
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


I had to turn on the AC for the first time this season today and the vents were blowing out worm air.
I went out to check if the outside unit was on and it was.
The strange thing is that both the fan and pump are on but seem to be running much slower than normal.
The high line is not getting hot and the low line is not getting cold.

I believe that the fan and pump are single stage and the capacitor is a "dual run capacitor" not a "start capacitor"

Question is..
Can the dual run capacitor be bad but still be able to run the unit at a slower speed?
If the freon was low, wouldn't the low pressure switch not allow the unit to come on at all?
Is there anything else that can cause this?
Please help...Due to the economy I am unemployed and cannot pay to have a tech come out :^(

mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 05:00 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Many units don't have a low pressure switch.

Good chance its the capacitor.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 06:32 AM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,992
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Yep, especially if it is visibly bulged/deformed looking.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 10:16 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Guess I will try a new run capacitor.

In the event that doesn't work....what else can the problem be?

Might I add that I do NOT have to start anything by hand......Just seems like the pump and fan speed is at about 60%

Would it cut down the speed on the two if it were low on freon?

This unit is only about 6-7 years old.

I have read about a 24 Volts at a certain location on the unit.....can anyone tell me exactly where so I can check it?

At the contactor I seem to have 238 Volts
mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 12:39 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


A weak capacitor can cause the fan to run slower.

The 24 volts is the control voltage. Which has no bearing on compressor or fan speed. But would be checked across the contactors 24 volt coil.

Low of refrigerant wouldn't cause the fan to spin slower.

Last edited by beenthere; 05-24-2010 at 01:10 PM. Reason: fixed typo
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 01:08 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
A weak capacitor can cause the fan to run slower.

The 24 volts is the control voltage. Which has no bearing on compressor or fan speed. But would be checked across the contactors 24 volt coil.

Low of refrigerant would cause the fan to spin slower.
I just installed a new dual run capacitor and it made no difference.

You say that being low on refrigerant will tell the unit to cut down the fan/pump speed to keep from freezing up?
mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 01:10 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Sorry.

Meant to say that it wouldn't cause the fan speed to decrease.

Could have bearings tightening up on the fan motor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 01:52 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Fan bearings are great....spins rather easily and really smooth.

What else can make this whole thing slow down?
mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 02:16 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Is it really slowed down. or does it just look that way to you, now that its not cooling right. Lots of people don't take notice tot he fan speed when their A/C is working.

You may have had 238 volts at the contactor when the A/C wasn't running. But what is the voltage when it is running.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 02:35 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


I take notice to the fan speed all the time.....now that its slower.....I can hear the pump, has a slight gargling buzzing noise, but I do believe its running. Figured it always sounded like that....just more noticeable with out the fan at full blast. Pretty much sound like a normal compressor to me.

I checked the Volts and it is 238 to 239 on the feed side when off.......and 238 to 239 on both sides when on.

In addition.....last year it was not working so well and the High line WAS getting hot, but the Low line was NOT getting cold.

Now it wont even do that.
mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 02:39 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


A slow running fan could cause the small line to get very hot.

So if its running slow, and the small line isn't getting hot. You have more trouble then just a slow running fan.

Might be time to bite the bullet, and call a tech to diagnose it. Might be a dirty condenser coil, and a low charge caused by a leak.

Have you checked the amp draw when the unit is running.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 02:45 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


I have a super fancy BluePoint digital volt meter I got From Snapon.

What setting do I need to have it on for that, and where do I check it? What should it be?
mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 02:47 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Can that meter check amp draw on AC electric?

You would check it on one of the line voltage wires feeding the condenser.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 02:50 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Guess its the DCA?

It has 200 with a backwards y then 2m, 20m, 200m, 2, 10
mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 02:50 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

York AC unit running slow...Please help :^(


Won't do AC amps.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
HEIL/ICP gas/electric self-contained unit -- blowing cold air, won't shut off AboveTheBULL HVAC 3 06-28-2010 06:23 AM
Furnace leak while running AC unit lbartowski HVAC 3 09-18-2009 01:46 PM
AC condensing unit failure? Hotinsummer HVAC 3 08-09-2009 02:08 PM
Main blower is very slow on York Diamond 90 dnastrau HVAC 5 08-01-2009 01:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.