Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 05:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

York 80% vacuum / draft issue


I have a 11yr old york diamond 80 upflow. I finally turned it on sunday and had some issues. It threw a pressure switch code. I measured and I'm only pulling .4 wc when I should be .52

Its not a clogged vent as I had the same measurement w/ or w/o the vent attached. The inducer motor spins freely (no drag bearings seem good) and seems fine, nothing wrong with the squirrel cage either.

Whats left to check other than a cracked manifold?

jar944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:56 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,627
Default

York 80% vacuum / draft issue


squirrel cage is clean on the rounds?can you adjust the pressure switch to make at .4

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:09 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default

York 80% vacuum / draft issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
squirrel cage is clean on the rounds?can you adjust the pressure switch to make at .4
No, the switch is non adjustable. Though even if it was I wouldn't want to go that way.

yes the cage is clean.

Last edited by jar944; 10-09-2012 at 07:47 PM.
jar944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,293
Default

York 80% vacuum / draft issue


is the inducer cumming up to full speed...had one like it ...only running at half speed....replaced inducer.....fixed problem...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default

York 80% vacuum / draft issue


It appears to be spinning up correctly.

after taking the pic, I noticed there was some buildup on the cage. I media blasted it with crushed walnut and re installed. I just measured the vacuum again. It pulled .54"

strange
jar944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:09 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,627
Default

York 80% vacuum / draft issue


if they get out of round they loose that scoop factorand your reading 10ths of inches of static could of did it..on your supply fan for the house it would take longer...so now you know anything below the original reading the squirrel is catching crap

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Draft Inducer Blower Not Blowing- LED Blinking 3 Times rust101 HVAC 10 04-09-2013 08:44 PM
York Diamond 90 furnace not starting items HVAC 14 12-23-2011 10:57 AM
York or Trane? koz HVAC 1 05-26-2010 05:42 AM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM
York High Efficiency Heat Exchanger issue aduraes HVAC 1 12-18-2008 08:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.