XR90 Trane Not Working For Heat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2012, 03:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

XR90 Trane not working for heat


I have XR90 furnace for last 4 years.

Suddenly this winter the furnace stopped starting up for heat (fan did work well for A/C before that).

I have 3 led lights blinking indicating pressure switch error.

checked the black pipe entering the switch and no issue. Looked at the colourless pipe at the back and dont see anything in there either. (So clean pipes)

Tried to check voltage between Yellow and Red terminal on pressure switch and it is zero volts. My understanding is it should be 24 volts when heat is on.

Other observation.
1) Main house fan is not turning on.
2) There seems to be this other fan (which I think is used to throw the CO2 air outside) and that fans seems to make noise but don't know if its working or not and the coil seems to be getting hot as I can touch the outer side and it is hot. Checked outside and don't see air coming out with any force, similarly don't see any force of air in intake. It is in black housing and is connected to outlet pipe going outside my house.
3) Last year i had issue with limit switch and i had to clean it and it started working. So I tried removing one of the cables from limit switch and my house fan starts up full speed
4) Voltage difference between C & W terminal on mother board is always zero, when heat is suppose to come up.

Questions I had
1) Can I somehow bypass my thermostat to ensure that there is no issue with thermostat causing this issue.
2) Can I test any voltages that will tell me if things are working or not.

I am novice to this things so if you reply with suggestion you might have to point me to exact place.

Thanks,

Sandip

Advertisement


Last edited by sghayal; 10-13-2012 at 03:26 PM.
sghayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:37 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

XR90 Trane not working for heat


check if the inducer is running, the small fan

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum

Advertisement

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
sghayal (10-13-2012)
Old 10-13-2012, 03:46 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

XR90 Trane not working for heat


It is making noise but don't know if it is actually working. As I mentioned earlier its coil is getting hot. Any way to test its working properly? I did go outside my home to see if I am getting any exhaust outside but could not feel any thing.
sghayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:51 PM   #4
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,552
Rewards Points: 620
Default

XR90 Trane not working for heat


The thermostat can not create a pressure switch error code.
A common 1st thing to check with a PS code is to check the port entry on the ID assy (that 2nd motor) for a debris build up. The small hose end that attaches to the ID assy from the PS needs to be removed. Use a straightened paper clip to probe that ID port for a bit of a blockage.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
sghayal (10-13-2012)
Old 10-13-2012, 04:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

XR90 Trane not working for heat


Pardon my ignorance but is that the small motor that you are taking about? As per attached picture?

I can unbolt the motor but is that what you want me to day?
Attached Thumbnails
XR90 Trane not working for heat-20121013_155424.jpg  
sghayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:17 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

XR90 Trane not working for heat


Quote:
Originally Posted by how View Post
The thermostat can not create a pressure switch error code.
A common 1st thing to check with a PS code is to check the port entry on the ID assy (that 2nd motor) for a debris build up. The small hose end that attaches to the ID assy from the PS needs to be removed. Use a straightened paper clip to probe that ID port for a bit of a blockage.
Read your post again. Are you looking for me to clean up pressure switch assembly? I did blow air in all the pipes and it was clean. I will put the clip in the PS and see if it helps.

Thanks,

Sandip

Cleaned all the pipes entering PS they are totally clean. Don't see any issue there.

Advertisement


Last edited by sghayal; 10-13-2012 at 04:30 PM.
sghayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRANE XE80 - 2 red flashes - intermittant Thomasv HVAC 14 11-12-2014 09:34 PM
Trane XR90 Blown Control board! ThugRen HVAC 7 04-21-2012 03:22 AM
Trane XR90 - Condensate Drane Trap JDWorks HVAC 16 02-07-2012 08:59 PM
Trane XE 80 Blower not working SKey HVAC 3 06-25-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts