Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2012, 12:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

XE1000 Condenser Fan Install


Hello! I am trying to figure out how to wire in a new Trane MOT 3125 condenser fan motor into my 1993 XE 1000 heat pump.

It has an AO Smith motor in it now that has bad bearings. A tech replaced the original motor with an AO Smith motor a few years ago and I suspect he did away with wires needed for the Trane motor. The Trane motor has 3 wires, black, brown and purple.

The AO Smith has 4 wires, black, white, brown and brown with a white stripe. The 2 brown wires currently go to a small start capacitor. The black goes to a circuit board and the white goes to what appears to be a relay.

Now I cant figure out what to do with these 3 wires on the new motor.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Ryan2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 01:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XE1000 Condenser Fan Install


Did you buy a capacitor with your new motor?
Was it a dual capacitor?




Last edited by Houston204; 09-30-2012 at 01:58 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:05 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

XE1000 Condenser Fan Install


as stated you need a dual run capacitor.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 05:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XE1000 Condenser Fan Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
Did you buy a capacitor with your new motor?
Was it a dual capacitor?


Thanks! I finally found the schematic. It's a different model that uses a separate capacitor and I did buy one. And the tech must have tossed the one missing wire that ran from the relay T2 over to the terminal on the small cap where the purple plugs in. The brown goes to the other terminal on the cap and the black goes to the defrost board where the AO Smith's black wire was.

It's running now and quiet as a mouse! Thanks again for the help!
Ryan2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delta-FL on floor and XPS on walls. Should I install the flooring or the walls first? yotaman Remodeling 11 04-19-2011 09:20 AM
New cabinets, subfloor & install height Ohming Building & Construction 10 03-02-2011 02:18 PM
Should I install interior doors before floor? pttcc Flooring 13 11-23-2010 09:02 AM
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 08:49 PM
AC condenser install quote question amdspitfire HVAC 3 08-25-2008 09:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.