XE-78 Furnace Problem - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2011, 12:54 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by #CARRIERMAN View Post
Hi bigdaddy

It sounds like you could have a pressure switch problem. It does not from your post sound like a constant one. When the furnace goes out, if you put a jumper wire across the two wires of the pressure switch it should fire right back up. If the little fan (inducer assembly) is making alot of noise or vibrating, this is going to be the more likely problem than the pressure switch.

Good luck
Rusty
unit does not have a pressure switch..........its natural draft

Advertisement

harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 07:16 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Re: XE-78 furnace problem


I have a similar unit (so it is over 20 yrs old). The symptoms described here are the same - cold start up OK, ignitor on and flame blowing for 5+ min. The all of a sudden, the flame stopped. The rest of the motors are all humming. The ignitors turned on a few times, but no gas, no flame. The main blower keeps running and blow cold air. The LED flashes then dump the error code of 2 flashes, which essentially tell me nothing - system lockout. Checked the pressure senor, closed upon startup, so there is vaccumn. I even tried shorting it when the flame went out, but no effect. I checked the flame sensor current at about 3.x uA, so this is normal. I checked the limit switches (both the one on the exchanger wall and the one facing the flame. Both are low ohmic. I have DMM on them looking for opens when the flame cut out. The voltage on them is clamped at 0 so they are close.

I am out of easy to check options. If the gas flow valve is faulty, why would it drops out in the middle of it? I did not check the AC voltage that are supposed to be driving the valve body, as the wiring connection is not quite clear to me.

Any other suggestions?

Advertisement

tmmak12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
New High Efficiency Furnace Problem Buster 567 HVAC 8 12-13-2010 09:36 PM
Comfortmaker furnace problem Big Red HVAC 11 02-10-2008 06:56 PM
furnace problem captjack HVAC 8 11-23-2007 12:15 PM
another question for a miller furnace problem jb9270 HVAC 1 02-05-2007 03:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1