Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2008, 11:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

X wire on old thermostat


I have a heat pump with emergency heat function. Changing the old thermostat to a Rite Temp 8010. All the connections corresponded just like the installation manual said. Only question I had was the old thermostat had a black wire connected to an X terminal. The new thermostat, which has 2 AA batteries, said to tape off the X wire from the old thermostat. I did that and everything seems to work fine (didn't check AC today though). I also pulled the panel off the heat pump unit in the basement and the black wire in question above is connected to a C terminal (apparantly the common side of the 24 VAC transformer? I thought I read somewhere that I could go ahead and connect that black wire from C in the basement to C on the new thermostat and extend battery life? Or should I just quit while I'm ahead and leave well enough alone? Thanks.

Jellybean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 08:14 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

X wire on old thermostat


if the new stat info calls for the C from the furnace hook it up for the comon sidde of the TR so you have a true 24V at the subbase.the newer stats with the larger LED screens and more digital options calls for a solid 24Vs the battery s to keep the stat info constant during a power failure until the power comes back up.

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 08:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

X wire on old thermostat


you can hook up the wire to the c terminal on the tstat and then get rid of the batteries .
hvacdad211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 07:14 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

X wire on old thermostat


Thanks for your help. I appreciate it.
Jellybean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question(s) about 2 wire Thermostat - need help, won't turn off! WestsideAudioFan Electrical 13 01-17-2014 04:24 PM
8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed dj petey Electrical 5 01-19-2008 09:11 AM
Wiring a Noma Programable Thermostat 111jag General DIY Discussions 1 10-14-2007 10:13 PM
8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed dj petey HVAC 5 04-15-2006 12:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.