WOW, This Control Board Is Cooked! - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2008, 08:37 PM   #16
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Turn the board over and trace the foil runner out from the fuse. I'd bet one side of it goes to either SEC1 or SEC2. If it does, the fuse is on the 24 volt side of the transformer. Very rarely does a board like this have a fuse for the 120 volt side.

You mentioned heat pump. I don't think this board can control a heat pump. Not enough 24 volt terminals. It looks like it can control a single-stage furnace, and a single-stage A/C unit. Some of the other guys here have a lot more experience than I do, and can confirm yes or no.

Rob

You're absolutely right, the xfmr blew on the secondary side. That board interfaces with a pug in harness to power the inducer and ignition and blower.

In a lot of cases changing the board with out the harness (the wiring harness being the reason for the short to ground) will result in another blown board.

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 03:25 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oregon
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


hi again, i just saw a new in box rheem RGLN-10EAMER 80,000 BTU output on craigslist for $200 it's probably twice as much as my 1300sq ft house needs. what would happen if i installed it anyway? besides cycling twice as often and shortening it's life. i know it ain't right, but $200

thanks!
bigscooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 03:59 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


Id pass... You'll end up spending more on gas..Saving a couple hundred up front, isnt worth spending a lot more for years.

And like you said, it'll cycle all the time and be annoying. I have 2500 sq ft and my 100,000 is too much..

Definitely find a furnace sized right for your house. Very important. (I learned the hard way).

Furnaces really arent all that expensive - considering how long they can last.
Tommy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 04:49 PM   #19
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


"New" for $200. I got some land I want to sell you. Needs to be at least $800 for an elcheapo. Buyer beware. If it is too big for the house/ductwork it will continuously cut out on the limit control/blow the control/damage the heat exchanger etc etc.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 12:50 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oregon
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


I may have just lucked out! I went to my local furnace guy to check out a new furnace he had for me. He'd already sold the furnace but he had a dust covered control board he'd removed from a similar furnace a few years back. It was even the updated fused model. After replacing the sketchy furnace breaker and cleaning every contact I could find, I slipped it in and it fired up immediately. Everything seems to be working fine. ( for the moment) Hopefully, it will last through the winter to the end of this renovation for a more convenient time to update the HVAC. Two thumbs up for our local furnace guy "Tony" and thanks to all of you for the help.
bigscooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 01:09 AM   #21
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigscooter View Post
I may have just lucked out! I went to my local furnace guy to check out a new furnace he had for me. He'd already sold the furnace but he had a dust covered control board he'd removed from a similar furnace a few years back. It was even the updated fused model. After replacing the sketchy furnace breaker and cleaning every contact I could find, I slipped it in and it fired up immediately. Everything seems to be working fine. ( for the moment) Hopefully, it will last through the winter to the end of this renovation for a more convenient time to update the HVAC. Two thumbs up for our local furnace guy "Tony" and thanks to all of you for the help.

You'll be back.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 09:11 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oregon
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
You'll be back.
I know. Hopefully later than sooner.
bigscooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 10:10 AM   #23
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


Happy new year key.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 11:21 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


Where can I get a schematic for a CESO110057-02 control board?
RJSherwood7435 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 11:52 AM   #25
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


put an inline fuse on the R hot 24V feeding it 3A....that explosion looked like a 120v short over to the circuits off the relays and or the TR took spike and cooked it...for future references http://www.bestbuyheatingandaircondi...ode=cb-carrier

Last edited by biggles; 12-06-2011 at 11:56 AM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 01:58 PM   #26
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


That is fan relays got smoked. Before you smack the dust off your hands. You need make sure amps on motor is good. But it can just been lose connection.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 12:46 PM   #27
Stuck in the 70's
 
Blondesense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: south central Missouri
Posts: 2,163
Rewards Points: 1,020
Default

WOW, this control board is cooked!


Old thread!

Advertisement

Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
York gas heater control board replacement spyvan HVAC 5 12-29-2008 08:12 AM
Inducer fan assembly or inducer control circuit board failing realblonde94526 HVAC 3 05-12-2008 08:28 PM
Blower control board mlmaher HVAC 1 11-24-2007 02:39 PM
Installing deck ledger board over foam board? RickT Building & Construction 5 11-06-2006 11:50 PM
Ruud a/c control board replacement ? kourso HVAC 1 07-20-2006 10:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts