Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2011, 08:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

wood stove sharing a flue


I know most app can't share a flue and I know that a wood stove should not share a flue with an oil burner. But, I have an old home with a center chimney. the chimney has no flue tiles. there is an oil burner in the basement. I want to add a wood stove and use the chimney. I know they can't share a flue but is there a way to
1. add a flue, without having to cut apart half the house
2. split the curent flue into two seperate flues 1 for each app
3. use a liner for 1 and exhaust the other around the liner

captainkid28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 08:37 PM   #2
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Default

wood stove sharing a flue


In a word NO! Are you suicidal???? Read up on Chimney Fires and Carbon Monoxide!!!!

Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 08:48 PM   #3
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

wood stove sharing a flue


Cut hole in wall or ceiling Install vent pipe for wood stove & go above roof line with approved vent cap
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 08:50 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,416
Default

wood stove sharing a flue


If your current chimney is big enough for 2 liners to be installed in it. then yes, you can have 2 liners in one chimney.

No liner is approved to also have flue gasses on the outside of it.

Another option, is to have a power vent added to your oil furnace and direct vent it out the side of your house/basement.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 07:43 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default

wood stove sharing a flue


My chimney is 16" by 16"od. with no terra cotta tiles. so as long as I use a seperate liner for each appliance then i should be ok. I don't think 2 6" flue liners will fit. Thanks for the help.
captainkid28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:05 AM   #6
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Default

wood stove sharing a flue


Do Stainless steel liners support the heat from a wood stove? Just asking. Also what are the flue diameters of your oil fired furnace and the woodstove? You say the OD on your brick, unlined, chimney is 16 x 16, so if you deduct 4 inches on each side of the chimney -for the size of a brick- you have a usable ID on your chimney of 8 inches x 8 inches. I'm willing to bet that oil burner of yours has a flue diameter of 8-10 inches. Your wood stove should have a flue diameter of 6-10 inches as well. How do you propose to provide the breathing room needed for these two appliances in that one 8 x 8 hole?????

Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wood Stove in Basement? dwolek HVAC 4 10-28-2009 08:02 AM
Building a base for my wood stove Verbose Building & Construction 1 10-11-2009 07:06 PM
Wood Burner, run stove pipe through floor awalker19 HVAC 7 10-19-2008 09:28 AM
Fire Place / Wood Burning Stove Question fburke Building & Construction 1 12-27-2007 09:52 AM
Wood Burning FP needs flue extension Renee Building & Construction 1 08-29-2005 05:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.