Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2011, 10:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Red face

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


I had a friend come over and install a new programmable thermostat. The new one only ran the heat. When he put the old one back on, that only ran the heat too. Everything (heat, fan, A/C all ran fine before new one was put in). I have replaced the new old with the old one again and still no A/C or fan. Only heat..... Any suggestions?

balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 11:43 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


model# of old thermostat, model# of new thermostat, do you have a heatpump. Post pictures of the thermostat, and the connections with their colors on the air handler. If everything was hooked up as they were on the old thermostat, then someone did not read the installer instructions in setting up the new one for your system.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
balou2u2 (05-30-2011)
Old 05-30-2011, 12:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


Old one is a Honeywell (can't find model #), new one is a hunter 44110. I'll see if I can post pics. Thanks!
balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:37 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


Take back the Hunter and get a Honeywell. Hunters are not good thermostats.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:44 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


Hope this helps
Attached Thumbnails
Woman needs help lol  Thermostat problem-new-thermo.jpg   Woman needs help lol  Thermostat problem-wires.jpg   Woman needs help lol  Thermostat problem-0530111233-00.jpg  
balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:45 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
model# of old thermostat, model# of new thermostat, do you have a heatpump. Post pictures of the thermostat, and the connections with their colors on the air handler. If everything was hooked up as they were on the old thermostat, then someone did not read the installer instructions in setting up the new one for your system.
I have a forced air furnace (not sure what a heat pump is)
balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:54 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


The Heat pump sits outside. Looks like a air conditioner, but it allows the heat to be pulled from outside when it is cold out, and runs like a ac during warmer months. Compare the wire connections and color on the thermostat to what they are like on the air handler. Use a sheet of paper to put down on one side the connections at the thermostat, and on the other the connections at the air handler. From there it should hook up. Also make sure you have batteries installed in the thermostat, and when you make the connections make sure the power is shut off on the air handler, so that you do not blow any fuses.

Once connected, going through the programming is all you have left to do.

Last edited by gregzoll; 05-30-2011 at 12:56 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:55 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


The Honeywell (old thermo) is a ct3400
balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:01 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


I don't think so. All that I see is the ac unit
balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:02 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Take back the Hunter and get a Honeywell. Hunters are not good thermostats.

The old one worked fine..... wish it would work again
balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:02 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


If it ain't broke - don't fix it lol I should have followed this rule of thumb lol
balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:06 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


what is an air handler and where are the wires? lol
balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 02:40 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by balou2u2 View Post
what is an air handler and where are the wires? lol
Depends on if you are in a home or apartment. Could be in a closet, your attic, or a space that you need maintenance to get to if you are in a condo. The wires would be in the bottom of the unit where the fan is for moving the air across the coil & heat exchanger.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 02:44 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Woman needs help lol Thermostat problem


I am in a mobile home. The heater/Fan is in a closet but I can't make heads or tails of all the wires

balou2u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF notawiz HVAC 38 07-25-2014 09:38 AM
Problem w/ two 240v baseboard circuits on single double-pole switch. Skypalace Electrical 18 03-21-2010 05:16 PM
Thermostat or oil burner problem? freyguys HVAC 5 02-25-2010 02:44 PM
Changed thermostat and have problem ssmcalister HVAC 3 10-29-2008 05:40 PM
Hunter Thermostat Problem kohlernm HVAC 1 11-22-2007 10:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.