Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2012, 06:58 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 277
Rewards Points: 2
Share |
Default

wiring to thermostat


Hi,does anyone by chance know what the operation of each circuit/wire to thermostat could be on the pic.Is blue usually temp/on off for ac ?.
its a older heat pump/ weathertron.
-any info is appreciated071012125711.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
wiring to thermostat-071012125711.jpg  

hidden1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:47 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wiring to thermostat


its not the colors it is the letters from there to the stat that are the loads to run

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:58 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

wiring to thermostat


B = 24VAC common
R = 24VAC hot
Y = COMPRESSOR CONTACTOR
G = BLOWER
O = REVERSING VALVE
T = ODT
W = AUX HEAT
X2 = EMERGENCY HEAT
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 277
Rewards Points: 2
Default

wiring to thermostat


thanks.
-what is the l (is light blue between the g and o)
hidden1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:07 PM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

wiring to thermostat


Fault indicator
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 277
Rewards Points: 2
Default

wiring to thermostat


Is there usually a wire attatched to this l- fault indicator (coming out as the rest are ) or is it suppose to be without a lead to thermostat..
hidden1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 03:29 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wiring to thermostat


Only if your thermostat can use it. In my area we rarely see that terminal hooked up.

scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to scottmcd9999 For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (07-18-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
thermostat wiring rejames HVAC 11 05-02-2012 08:07 PM
2 zone damper 2 thermostat wiring help kostia HVAC 10 08-22-2010 09:57 AM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-09-2010 11:58 PM
Unexpected wiring found on existing thermostat mportobello HVAC 12 03-30-2010 06:11 AM
Thermostat wiring question cpuken HVAC 4 12-14-2009 07:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.