Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2008, 04:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a TH8320


I have a Lennox Air Handler CB 26UH with an outside A/C unit. I am trying to the wire the new thermostat and here are my connections off the old thermostat.

Black goes to E
Yellow-Y
B is skipped
Orange-O
White-W2
Red-R
Green_G

First off do I use the conventional or Heat pump terminals?
When aligning the wires with the terminals do you stay you have to stay under the conventional/heat pump selection or can you just match the wires to the corresponding letter?

If I align all the wires using the conventional terminals, my first wire (Black E) is not an option. It is under the Heat Pump side.

Thanks for any assistance.

Ryan314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 07:54 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Wiring a TH8320


Do you have a heat pump, or an electric furnace wioth A/C.

Your old stat was wired as though it were controling a heat pump.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 07:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a TH8320


I have a Air Handler with an outside A/C unit.
Ryan314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 08:04 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Wiring a TH8320


Ok.

Then I have no idea why your old stat is wired for a heat pump.

So your outside A/C unit doesn't run when the thermostat calls for heat.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 05:28 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a TH8320


The outside A/C unit only runs when I select A/C on the T stat. The heat is produce by the Air handler electrically.

Thanks
Ryan314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 05:52 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Wiring a TH8320


Then on the TH8320.

For an electric furnace.

Red to RH/RC.
Yellow to Y1.
Green to G.
White to W!.
Black to E.
Orange is taped off, only needed if you have a heat pump.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Electrical problem, bad wiring? mumblemouth Electrical 10 08-09-2008 11:52 AM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.