Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 07:00 AM   #31
Cheapskate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


I didn't hear anything click at all.

There is some sort of diaphram with a hose on it. Ill look to see if there are any wires coming from it when I get home from work tonight.

klapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 11:34 AM   #32
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


that diaphram is the proof that the ID motor is running then it OKs the pilot spark and main gas either the tube is leaking or the switch is ng.....jump it out and see if you get the heating cycle.the ID running no problem with the jump just to check it...might be 2 tubes one to each side of the ID.remove the jumpers on the ID dwyer/diaphram and turn it all the way CW then out CCW ....CCW will be the lowest tension and the least amount of air to proof it might close and make the heating cycle.from that CCW position.....to set the switch with the furnace running(and no jump)keep turning the adjustment CW in 1/4 turn at a time till the main gas shuts off then back it out CCW 2 1/4 turns.your set at the proof point of the dwyer pressure switch when the ID turns on.check with furnace off blow into the connecting tube to see if you can get at least a click
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 12:02 PM   #33
Cheapskate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 21
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


I will give it a try when I get home. Thank you for the help!!!
klapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 04:11 PM   #34
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


keep in mind that ID motor is the first thing to run with a call for heat comes down from the stat,lets hear what happen.........
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 06:11 PM   #35
Cheapskate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 21
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


Its alive!!!

Yippee


I pulled the hose on the proof and actuated it a few times and away the fire went!!!

Thank you thank you thank you!!!
klapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 06:36 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salinas, Calfornia (by monterey/carmel/san Jose
Posts: 17
Send a message via Yahoo to Jasondt2001
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


that's awesome it worked, I'm going to subscribe to this thread as I've wanted a thermostat/heater combo in my garage at times also
Thanks for answering the question, it'll help me alot in the future!!
Jasondt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:57 PM   #37
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


that's the first thing a service techs goes for......is the stat calling in the ID......and is it proofing the air to OK that gas cycle............to CHECK IT....pull the hose the motor will stay on(stat calling for heat) but the burner should shut down it'a great feeling when you figure thing like this out,and you are permitted to talk to the unit as your doing it.enjoy that heat in the garage.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:31 PM   #38
Cheapskate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 21
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


After I actuated the proof I noticed a bunch of water dribble out of the drain tube.

This is awsome.

All I can say is this site rocks!!!

Thank you thank you thank you!!!
klapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 10:16 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: N.W. of Chicago
Posts: 56
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


The water in the tube was probably the problem.The proving switch couldn't sense what it needed.

Glad you got it running.

Did you ever find out why it was replaced in the first place???
__________________
If it's true that you learn from your mistakes- I'm getting one heck of an education
thumbkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 11:34 PM   #40
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


And some people call the Gas Company for service cause they have better techs.
Self admitted cheapskate and safety do not mix well.
I know that's harsh but i would never put a used furnace in my garage. Does the OP know if the furnace is safe to to run.

Could be one of the Carriers with a bad ht ex.


As far as riding I am a 1%er.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 01-06-2009 at 11:45 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:09 AM   #41
Cheapskate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 21
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


Actually they have great techs there.

I admit I am not one of them as I have neve worked on one befor in my life.
I run gas mains and services and do maintenace to the supply system.

What is an OP.

As far as riding, I am no 1%er but I did build a hitch that is under the rear fender and I cut down and welded a Harbor Freight trailer and mounted acar roof top carrier to it and drug it to Sturgis this year. Put 2427 miles on in 9 days and saw the colorado Rockies Devils tower and some of the flattest land in Nebraska.
Man that state just keeps going up as you go west. I think it goes from about 1000 feet on the east side to around 6000 feet on the west. Thank goodnes for cruise control!
klapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:51 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: N.W. of Chicago
Posts: 56
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


Yes, that's why I asked about why it was replaced. I believe they have a 20 year life, so 16 years is close. I would seriously consider checking the heat exchanger!!!!! It couldn't hurt anything to check it.

and as far as riding, I don't. I'm spoiled . I like comfort and convenience. If I want the wind in my face I'll stick my head out the window.
__________________
If it's true that you learn from your mistakes- I'm getting one heck of an education
thumbkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:25 PM   #43
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by thumbkins View Post
Yes, that's why I asked about why it was replaced. I believe they have a 20 year life, so 16 years is close. I would seriously consider checking the heat exchanger!!!!! It couldn't hurt anything to check it.

and as far as riding, I don't. I'm spoiled . I like comfort and convenience. If I want the wind in my face I'll stick my head out the window.
Like I said cheap and safe don't mix well.


if you need any proof of that just remember some of the horror stories that you have lived thru as a renter trying to get a bad landlord to fix anything especially a bum furnace. Then some family ends up on the news from CO poisoning.

All be cause of cheap.

Don't mean to dis the OP but somebody has to point out a possible/probable safety hazard looking him square in the face.

That furnace being 16 years old makes it a certain candidate for the Carrier/Bryant class action suit for a defective heat exchanger which if our Bike Riding friend knows or not will kill you.

Know why the techs loaded it on your truck? They didn't want to deal with disposing it. The other pros will back me up on this at least.
They were not being nice to you.

i'd put money on it that if they knew you are a gas company guy they are probably laughing behind your back if that furnace is defective.
Don't blame the messenger, this rivalry goes back to the very first day a home was heated with Nat Gas.

It stems from the gas company dising independent pros. I have had a go around with gas company service guys and they all had a crummy attitude.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 12:10 PM   #44
Cheapskate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 21
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


I am not dis'ing anyone here as I have been helpped more than you know.

I honestly don't know why it was replace other than it was 16 years old.

What I will do is this, I'll bring home a "Sensit Gold" 4 gas tester including CO.

Also I'll have one of my CO detectors put into the garage.

I have no intention of placing my family or myself in harms way just to save a buck.

If the ht-ex is bad, out it goes.
klapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 12:58 PM   #45
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Wiring a T-stat for my garage furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by klapool View Post
I am not dis'ing anyone here as I have been helpped more than you know.

I honestly don't know why it was replace other than it was 16 years old.

What I will do is this, I'll bring home a "Sensit Gold" 4 gas tester including CO.

Also I'll have one of my CO detectors put into the garage.

I have no intention of placing my family or myself in harms way just to save a buck.

If the ht-ex is bad, out it goes.
The point is is YOUR used furnace on the recall list. Copy the model and serial number and call a Carrier dealer and ask. It does not cost anything to find out.

A CO detector goes off when its too late. That is not thinking safety that is waiting for an accident to happen.

It's your family's life, only you can make the decision to make the simple call to find out if your furnace is a potential death trap.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause? Radioguy HVAC 6 12-15-2008 06:55 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Wiring a garage reverendcolin Electrical 34 11-10-2008 04:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.