Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2011, 01:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for Rona Eco Friendly Programmable Thermostat


I am trying to replace my thermostat. The wiring at the Carrier furnace end is G -green wire, Y/Y2 - Yellow wire, R-red wire, W/W1-white wire, Black wire hooked to Com 24v. At the thermostat I have green to G, yellow to Y, White to W/b/o. That leaves red and black and the Rc and Rh connections. When i connect red to Rc and black to Rh i get the fan running but no heat kicks in, and when i connect black to Rc and red to Rh i get heat but the fan wont run if set to on. only when the furnace is blowing heat. Suggestions? We dont have an air conditioner but i think it may be wired for one as this is a new house. Do i need the jumper between Rc and Rh? But then where would black wire go?

zulpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 01:28 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,815
Rewards Points: 2,768
Default

Wiring for Rona Eco Friendly Programmable Thermostat


this is a confusing mess. first of all does the Rona tstat have a C terminal? not all do. standard wiring is leave the rh-rc jumper on the tstat alone and hookup r from the board to it. y to y, g to g, and C on the tstat if it has it to C on the board. IF NOT then the tstat has to run off its batteries ( no problem as they usually last 2-3 yrs) and you leave the black wire alone/taped off and stuck back in the wall and remove it from the board.

I am NOT a fan of those generic no name tstats from CTire/Rona etc etc. usually lower grade offshore imports. only one I recommend is the Honeywell Focus Pro and you can get them at Rona/CTire/HDepot. That one has a C terminal and can use your black wire and not need battery changes.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 12-01-2011 at 01:32 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 11:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for Rona Eco Friendly Programmable Thermostat


Thank you so much! There is no C so I think I will just return it and get one that will use 24v power. Have a great day!
zulpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 11:51 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring for Rona Eco Friendly Programmable Thermostat


Rc-Rh get the jump and RED wire goes to either R terminal NO BLACK that's the other side of the TR in the air handler dead short.....keep in mind the FAN cycle is controled within the furnace module board or heat disc..not the stat as in cooling.if you can't hook up C for a constant 24Vs at the subbase then its batteries every couple of years
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat Wiring Help Needed.... MistaBusta HVAC 13 09-02-2011 11:03 PM
Problem Wiring Thermostat MichaelLR Electrical 9 12-20-2010 04:20 PM
Unexpected wiring found on existing thermostat mportobello HVAC 12 03-30-2010 07:11 AM
Wiring on Hunter Analog Thermostat woomama HVAC 16 03-22-2010 02:52 PM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.