Wiring A Replacement Blower Motor - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2011, 02:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


I previously had an A.O. Smith 4 speed motor 1050 hp 115v. (part# 321p591) for the blower on my furnace. The wife noticed a bad smell and it stopped running. You can hear the electricity hum when it turns on, but it doesn't spin. The motor is also hot to the touch. I believe the bearings went bad on it. So I bought a replacement motor: GE, PSC, 1/3 HP, 1075 RPM, 115V, OPAO, 48YZ 2 speed.

The wires for the old motor looked like this:

The setup in the furnace looked like this: (Furnace wires to the left, motor wires to the right)



The new motor has two capacitor wires (brown and brown/white), a white wire, Black wire (labeled as Hi (speed?)) and red wire (labeled as lo (speed?))

The old motor was not wired to a capacitor. I checked everywhere and could not find one. I assume that the old white wire labeled C was a capacitor wire, possibly built into the motor. I wired the brown, brown/white and white wires to the furnace white wire, the black to black and red to red. When I turn it on, I can hear the electric hum, but the blower is not spinning. Do I need a capacitor with this new motor? I'm a little frustrated that the technician at the parts store where I got the motor didn't tell me I need a capacitor with the new motor. I'm also questioning whether the replacement motor I got is a good replacement one for the old A.O Smith one, since the new motor is only a 2 speed instead of 4 speed. Any thoughts on this?

I've also noticed a green spark coming from the safety switch on the furnace when I push it in and it turns on or when I let go of it and it turns off. Is this normal?

Advertisement

bodtchboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 03:00 AM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


You need a capacitor for the new motor. Connect brown, brown/white to the capacitor.

Advertisement

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 12:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


Thanks. So I'm curious, how was the old motor running without a capacitor? Do I need to run the white furnace wire labeled C from the circuit board to the capacitor, or just to the white wire on the motor?
bodtchboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 12:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


The cap will get the two brown wires.
The white wire will go to "c" on the board, and connects to white on the motor.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 01:04 PM   #5
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


You need connect Black to Black, White to White, Red to Blue,


Black - High speed
White - Line voltage return
Red connected to blue ( Med speed )
Blown - Blown/white to Capacitor

Take more pictures, old motor, new motor, furnace etc, control board
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 04:40 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


Thanks everyone. Just found out the circuit board is bad. Is this part easy to replace? Something I can just plug together to the existing wires or do I need a repairman? Got a quote of $650 - $750 to replace the blower motor and the circuit board. I wish I had the money for that, but...
bodtchboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 05:08 PM   #7
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by bodtchboy View Post
Thanks everyone. Just found out the circuit board is bad. Is this part easy to replace? Something I can just plug together to the existing wires or do I need a repairman? Got a quote of $650 - $750 to replace the blower motor and the circuit board. I wish I had the money for that, but...

We can help you fix this issue.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 05:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


You can get around the board for cooling purposes. You will need a 24 volt relay.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 06:03 PM   #9
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
You will need a 24 volt relay.

Not if you wire the fan direct.. No extra parts needed.
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 06:05 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


Why on earth would you do that??
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 06:16 PM   #11
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
Why on earth would you do that??
Isn't this a temp fix??? So what if the fan runs all the time until he can get a new board. He will have cooling until he can get the proper part...

A relay here or a relay there is Hackery....
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 06:25 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


It will result in higher humidity levels.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 06:33 PM   #13
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
It will result in higher humidity levels.

It will.. To a certain extent... Noticible.... Probably not...

I say... Save your money and get the right part...

Especially if you heat your house with this furnace as well....
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 07:30 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,443
Rewards Points: 4,532
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
It will result in higher humidity levels.

Yep, 3 to 5% increase in humidity. And could be a 30 to 35 dollar increase in the electric bill.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 07:25 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

Wiring a replacement blower motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by newtech View Post
It will.. To a certain extent... Noticible.... Probably not...

I say... Save your money and get the right part...

Especially if you heat your house with this furnace as well....
"I don't need no stinking relays, the key word here is temporary he don't need to be fiddling around with relays and wiring them in the control circuit just wire the fan to constant run until the proper parts are purchased.

Advertisement

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLDIRON For This Useful Post:
newtech (08-11-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECM Blower Motor bad Dragons Den HVAC 21 01-04-2014 08:21 PM
Trane XL80 blower motor part number? keverino HVAC 17 01-10-2012 10:01 AM
hvac blower motor wiring jason richman HVAC 6 07-07-2011 02:14 AM
nordyne e2eb-015ha blower motor jhw3_2005 HVAC 3 08-20-2010 03:29 PM
Blower motor wiring help!! atvguy64 HVAC 4 02-04-2008 09:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts