Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2012, 04:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

Wiring Problem HK42FZ009


I connected green, white and common as per the pictures below. There are still 3 black wires which should go on red and yellow. As the picture is very blurry I cannot tell which wire will go to red or yellow. I know 1 black wire has continuity with the red wire in the thermostat. Should this wire go to the red? Also where should the other 2 black wires go? If I want to connect it to the thermostat where should I connect all the wires in the thermostat. I can check the continuity between all the wires from the furnace to the thermostat. There are a total of 6 wires at the control board of the furnace.
Please help me out. Thanks in advanced.

dijas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 05:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

Wiring Problem HK42FZ009


Quote:
One cable has 3 wires green black and white. other cable has black and white and the 3rd cable has only black wire. how these wire shold be connected at furnace and the other end to the thermostat.my thermostat is noma 52-2558-8.
You are going to need to ohm out these wire to prove them. Then label each wire.

Do you have 3 sets of wires at the stat or is one set from the outdoor unit?
(Do you have ac as well as heat?)

Do you have more conductors in each wire bundle jacket? I'd guess yes.
If not then tracing will be easier.

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 05:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Wiring Problem HK42FZ009


I have 2 sets of wires coming into the thermostat. I have central air and heating as well. I checked the continuity, 1 black wire from the furnace is continuous (0 ohm) with 2 wires (yellow and green) in the thermostat. Another black wire from the furnace is continuous with the red wire at the thermostat. I have 1 white wire in the thermostat which is not continuous with any wire at the furnace. And the last black wire in the furnace is not continuous with any wire in the thermostat.
dijas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 05:46 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Wiring Problem HK42FZ009


Sorry forgot to mention that the green wire at the furnace has continuity with the black in the thermostat. I'm sure there is a junction box somewhere between the thermostat and furnace so the wiring is like this.


Furnace --- Continuity (0 ohm) ----- Thermostat
Green -------------------------------- Black
Black --------------------------------- Red
Black ----------------------------- Yellow and Green (2wires)
Black ----------------------------- No continuity
White ------------------------------ No continuity
White (common) ------------------- No Continuity

Last edited by dijas; 10-28-2012 at 05:48 PM.
dijas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 06:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

Wiring Problem HK42FZ009


Wow, your meter has very long leads .
Is the wiring isolated at both ends while testing?
If not what is the stat demand and what end is disconnected?

I would get 6 pieces of masking tape and number them 1 to 6.
Disconnect the stat wiring at the stat and the furnace
Then label each wire at the furnace with the stickers.
Verify that no wire has continuity to any other wire.
Wire nut red to green at the stat and write down the numbers at the furnace that now have continuity.
Unwire red to green.
Wire nut red to yellow and write down the numbers at the furnace that now have continuity.
Unwire red to yellow.
Wire nut red to black and write down the numbers at the furnace that now have continuity.

If you can reach both ends of the wire to test then pull new wire... its only 12 feet long...

After identifying the wiring, wire stat Green to stat G to furnace G.
Wire stat red to stat R and furnace R.
Wire stat yellow to stat Y and furnace Y.
Wire stat black to stat W and furnace W.

The 2 wires from the condenser wire to Y and C.

Last edited by Houston204; 10-28-2012 at 06:18 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 06:28 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Wiring Problem HK42FZ009


Yes the wires are isolated. What i did to test continuity was that I had a category 5 network cable which was long enough to go from my furnace to thermostat. Then I attached one end to the furnace wires and one to the thermostat wires (one by one of course) and then used the meter to check the continuity.

Also I apologize but i failed to understand what you meant by saying "wire nut red to green". What is nut red?

From my current testing this is what I have found out.

Furnace --- Continuity (0 ohm) ----- Thermostat
Green -------------------------------- Black
Black --------------------------------- Red
Black ----------------------------- Yellow and Green (2wires)
Black ----------------------------- No continuity
White ------------------------------ No continuity
White (common) ------------------- No Continuity

I am unsure about the 3 black wires and where they should go in the furnace as well as thermostat.

Thanks
dijas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 06:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

Wiring Problem HK42FZ009


By wire nut, I meant connect or short 2 wires together with the aid of a twist type electrical connector commonly referred to as a wire nut.

You have only proven 3 wires and need at least 4 if your stat does not require a common wire. You need 5 conductors if common is required.

Last edited by Houston204; 10-28-2012 at 06:34 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 07:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,275
Default

Wiring Problem HK42FZ009


anyway to run new 18-5 color coded wire ...that is the proper way....because this will always be an issue now and in the future for you or another person...stop the confusion run new wire....ben sr

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical wiring exposed....problem or not?? pipsal Electrical 4 03-22-2010 11:49 AM
AC wiring Problem SLEDGEHAMMER84 HVAC 12 01-22-2010 12:13 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Home wiring problem CAD Electrical 8 10-17-2009 02:26 PM
Outdoor AC on whenever heat is on - wiring problem? SammyLi HVAC 3 10-12-2008 12:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.