Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :) - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2010, 12:42 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


Ok, so I see where the destination of the 5 wires are.

1. Yellow is twisted around some other wire

2. Blue is tied into another (separate) white wire

3. Green is in terminal "G"

4. White is in terminal "W"

5. Red is in terminal "R"



According to the diagram for the new thermostat in my first post...I wouldn't use the "R" wire and would just leave the jumper in correct?

It says in the manual, "a jumper wire has been provided, connecting the RC and RH terminals for systems that do not provide both an RH and RC wire. If you have both an RH and RC wire, remove this jumper. If you do not have both an RH and RC wire, leave the jumper in place." I'm not seeing the RC/VC wire...so that's why I'm thinking I leave the jumper in?

Thanks so much for your help thus far guys....i'm learning a lot!

Advertisement

IdahoGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:50 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


At your thermostat.
Red to R
Green to G
White to W/B
Blue to Y/O

By rights, the blue and white wire at the furnace board, are suppose to be connected tot eh Y terminal.
But may have been bypassed for a reason we don't know.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:53 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


thanks a million....but...there isn't an "R" at the new thermostat terminals

would I just leave the red wire alone, keep the jumper in...and leave Y1 terminal empty?

Last edited by IdahoGirl; 05-14-2010 at 12:57 PM.
IdahoGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:58 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


LOL...


Sorry. I forgot they are listed differently. Connect the Red wire to either RC or RH. And make sure you leave the jumper connected to both RC and RH.

RC=Red cooling.
RH= Red heating.

Since you have both, you can connect the wire to either, as long as that jumper is there.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:00 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


great...thank you so much for the help. It's greatly appreciated!

just to confirm...the yellow wire will not be connected to anything right?
IdahoGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:09 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


Correct. Its just wrapped around the sheath of the wire that goes to your outdoor unit. So it doesn't get connected to anything.

You will also want to look in your install manual, to see if there are any set ups you need to enter, or change on your thermostat for your system. probably not. But double check, just incase.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:21 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


thanks...

is this an electric furnace or gas furnace / oil burner?


also, is it a STD (standard) or HP (heat pump) ?
IdahoGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:24 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


You have an induced draft 80% gas furnace, with straight/standard A/C(air conditioning) attached to it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:44 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


again, beenthere, thank you...and thanks to everyone who helped...and a special thanks to the one who said I shouldn't do it

just finished testing it and it works great!
IdahoGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:47 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


Good to hear.

Take care.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
IdahoGirl (05-14-2010)
Old 05-14-2010, 04:37 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


All's well that ends well.

Just so I know what is riding on wiring a thermostat:
Is it possible to permanently damage a thermostat or furnace [besides a blown low voltage fuse] by hooking up the 'stat wires incorrectly?
How soon would you know about the damage?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 05-14-2010 at 04:42 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 04:52 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


Its possible.

You would generally know with in a few seconds to a few minutes of trying to run the system. Depending on what was wiring was wrong.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 05:04 PM   #28
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


I wonder if the OP really was a chick. So many guys pretend to be chicks because they think the Pros will flock to them with offers of help.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 05:07 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Its possible.

You would generally know with in a few seconds to a few minutes of trying to run the system. Depending on what was wiring was wrong.
With one right way and, dunno', 3 or 4 bad ways, and dozens or hundreds of non-working ways, this is a pretty interesting gamble, to save $200 or less.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
So many guys pretend to be chicks because they think the Pros will flock to them with offers of help.
And they're right!

Works every time!

The amount of blood in a man's body is not enough to run his brain and something else at the same time!
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 05:11 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

Wiring My Thermostat...Please Help Solve Puzzle! :)


No different then when someone goes out and buys their own furnace heat pump or A/C. And then sizes and installs their own duct work.

A bad sizing and install can wipe out the equipment in just one or 2 seasons.

Today with forums. People can often get the help they need. Before they do damage.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unexpected wiring found on existing thermostat mportobello HVAC 12 03-30-2010 07:11 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM
Thermostat wiring jetmanaz HVAC 1 08-09-2009 08:13 PM
Thermostat wiring advice tsugacanadensis HVAC 2 11-04-2008 08:04 AM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 08:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts