Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2012, 02:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring issue...


I currently have an issue with my Furnace blower.
When turning on the A/C everything appears to work fine. Blower turns on, no issues there.

When the heat attempts to kick on is where the problem exists.
The Igniter starts glowing then Gas kicks on flames going at this point no issues.

Then after about 10 seconds the blower motor attempts to turn on and right away the breaker is kicked of course turning all power off to the furnace.


Here is information on my blower.
Model = FASCO D701 (Model WG840587)
115 VAC 60 hertz
1/2 horsepower
1075 rpm
Three Speed

According to plate on motor Here is wiring info:
Brown----------------Capacitor
Brown/White----------Capacitor
White----------------COM
Black----------------HI
Blue-----------------MEDIUM
Orange---------------LOW
Red------------------S.LOW
Green/yellow---------GROUND
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring issue...-20121027_140617.jpg   Wiring issue...-20121027_140710.jpg  

atc_parker05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:42 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring issue...


I have also tried connecting the red wire to the heat on the circuit board and the same thing happens.

atc_parker05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring issue...


Does the back of the board appear burned?
Does the breaker trip with black at the heat terminal?
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Houston204 For This Useful Post:
atc_parker05 (10-27-2012)
Old 10-27-2012, 03:15 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring issue...


Ok so with the black connected. It works just fine. No burn marks on the back of the board. I'm guessing it would be ok to leave it connected to the black...for heat then if i need cool to put it back? Also so I understand why do you think it would not work with the low or S.low wires.
atc_parker05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 03:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring issue...


It's probably only the capacitor, but it could also be the motor that requires replacing.

I'd start with the cap. match the microfarad and voltage of the old one.

The right meter can read the capacitance but a new cap is much cheaper than a meter...
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Concrobium and knob and tube wiring WillK Electrical 13 02-28-2011 12:17 PM
Issue with thermostat wiring for baseboard heater jschell Electrical 3 01-30-2011 07:30 AM
GFI wiring issue voless Electrical 4 10-20-2010 01:37 AM
House electrical wiring issue. gnidaerd General DIY Discussions 5 06-07-2009 02:42 AM
Century Home Wiring Issue fradam1976 Electrical 14 05-07-2008 01:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.