Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2006, 09:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring inline duct fan to blower motor


Hi folks,

I recently purchased an inline duct fan for a chilly room in our home and want to wire it to the furnace blower motor directly.

After studying the electrical schematic for a while, I thought I had it figured out. I connected the hot and neutral to the very posts on the control board that appeared to match what was feeding the blower but got nothing... it seemed I had completely broken the connection.

Anyone out there have any advice as to where I can connect these and how to connect them?

The schematic scan was too big to upload here so I've included a link to it: HERE

I've highlighted the wires I thought would work - orange goes to "HEAT", white is going to "NEUTRAL". the other 3 are going to "UNUSED MTR LEADS" and the "COOL" switch.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

cleininger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 10:34 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring inline duct fan to blower motor


How big of an inline duct fan (in terms of horsepower, watts or amps) are you using there? The "heat" and "neutral" are the correct terminals on the board that are energized when the blower is to run in heating mode. I am concerned that if your furnace blower also no longer runs, that you may have overloaded the little relay for the blower on the furnace control board. Those boards are pretty much sized with components to control just the furnace stuff only. Adding additional load to the board that was not intended to be there might not be a wise idea. Better to use those terminals to switch a relay of your own, rather than the additional motor directly. Either that, or use a sail switch in the ductwork.

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 05:53 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring inline duct fan to blower motor


Thanks for the reply.

The furnace blower still works... just not with those 2 terminals disconnected. Once I returned the two disconnect terminals back to their places everything was fine. I had unplugged them and plugged the fan wires to them instead to test if it would come on in place of the blower. I didn't even get the usual hum from the furnace when I pressed the panel saftey switch.

The fan is a 6 inch, .35 amps, 250 CFM. Quite small actually.
cleininger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 07:55 PM   #4
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring inline duct fan to blower motor


Some furnaces have a separate relay for an Electronic Air Cleaner. You can use this if you don't already have an air cleaner installed.
rakes9720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshoot Blower Motor - Lennox LongShot HVAC 2 12-29-2006 06:30 PM
Wiring from electric motor subman Electrical 1 06-24-2005 10:37 PM
Wiring from electric motor Submarineman Electrical 1 06-17-2005 12:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.