Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2010, 05:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


I have an old wesco furnace model bru 1500 in my mobile home. It is already wired with 5 wire to the thermostat, but I only use two because it is a heat only system. Now I want to wire up the option on my thermostat to run fan only...Anyone know how to do that? thanks

thewhitemacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 07:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 449
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


If one of the wires is clearly marked 'G', that's the one that goes to the thermostat 'G' terminal.

diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 07:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


There are only two terminals on the furnace end. And they are already hooked up by the two wires needed to run normal furnace function. So where do i hook up the green on the furnace end?
thewhitemacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 07:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 449
Post

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


In my furnace the low voltage terminal board receiving wiring from thermostat is riveted to side of wiring box (not control board). Assume W and Y are your 2 terminals for heat. Typically other terminals are C (not used on mine) and G for fan. Total of 4. When the fan switch is thrown on thermostat only the fan goes on if the G wire is connected. Probably overrides all safety checks for ignition etc because it's just a fan. With no G terminal you won't be able to run fan only.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:40 PM   #5
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


If it's an old motor .It may only be single speed. G brings in high speed which he may not have
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 08:26 AM   #6
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 245
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
If it's an old motor .It may only be single speed. G brings in high speed which he may not have
The G terminal energizes a fan relay. It doesn't have to be a multispeed motor.
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 08:28 AM   #7
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 245
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by thewhitemacho View Post
I have an old wesco furnace model bru 1500 in my mobile home. It is already wired with 5 wire to the thermostat, but I only use two because it is a heat only system. Now I want to wire up the option on my thermostat to run fan only...Anyone know how to do that? thanks
Can you post a pic of where your t-stat wires are connected in the furnace?? Do you have a circuit board?
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 09:33 AM   #8
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by newtech View Post
The G terminal energizes a fan relay. It doesn't have to be a multispeed motor.


Yes, I know that. I should worded it a little different. His unit may not be set up to use fan only if he is heat only & is an older type furnace. He may just have a time delay relay, etc, that brings fan on since he says it's older & is heat only. I'm not saying it cant be wired to work.

Last edited by kenmac; 09-30-2010 at 09:41 AM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 01:45 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


here is a picture of where the wires connect to the furnace.
Attached Thumbnails
wiring for fan only on electric furnace-img_0582.jpg  
thewhitemacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 04:56 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,399
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


It is a basic electric furnace that has no fan relay and G and is not prewired for AC. The sequencers for the heat strips turn on the fan. No way to run the fan unless a fan relay is installed and a bunch of wiring altered by a Pro who does electric furnaces.

That furnace may not be very safe to use as one of the elements can short out soon due to age and drop to the next one and start a wiring overload and fire. I have seen plenty of roasted electric furnaces. For safety reasons I would buy a new Miller or Intertherm and it will have a G terminal etc.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 09-30-2010 at 04:59 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
thewhitemacho (09-30-2010)
Old 10-02-2010, 10:25 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


Thanks for the help, What about this option, I should be able to wire in a standard toggle switch just outside the furnace on the wall that runs the fan only right? So it would be bypassing the furnace and just engaging the fan. Just wire a switch that takes power from somewhere inside the furnace, ( im sure i could find a 110 lead in there somewhere) and just wire it up like a standard house 110 switch. am I off base here? that would work right? That is, if the fan is 110.thanks...

------Tighten it till it strips,back off a 1/4 turn-------
thewhitemacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:40 AM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,399
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


Nope, the fan is 220 volts. Any altering and you could backfeed power to the motor or elements and damage them. Sorry.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:06 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


Right, back feed, good point, so for the sake of making it possible, you could have a switch that kills power to the fan first, then re-energizes it with another switch, a what, two pole 220v switch right?( the green ones i think), or if they make a switch that does that all in one.....Is this dangerous? lol...I know my way around wiring pretty well,ac house current that is....thanks


-----tighten it till it strips,back of a 1/4 turn-----
thewhitemacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:38 AM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,399
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


Hard to see it from here. A green one? Homemade wiring tends to catch on fire from what I have seen and the fire marshall/ins co. don't care for it either.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:50 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

wiring for fan only on electric furnace


True that....thanks

thewhitemacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan, thermostat, wesco


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring for electric range rgustavw Electrical 2 09-21-2010 02:18 AM
Ruud Electric Heating Furnace jacksadvantage HVAC 3 01-15-2010 04:56 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
electric furnace not shutting off pkuenz HVAC 5 11-17-2008 04:22 PM
electric furnace need help Unregistered HVAC 3 10-16-2007 02:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.