Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2011, 12:11 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


And just to make sure, if I use the same type capacitor, I would cap off the brown/white wire and only use the brown wire on the FAN spot of the round type capacitor.

I am just making sure I dont fdry my new motor nor mess up the HVAC unit in some form.

Buying a $6-30 capacitor is not an issue, just want to make sure I get the right stuff and have it wired all kosher like.

Thanks!!!

ogre2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 05:22 PM   #17
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


that setup should be fine with a new capacitor
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:42 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
I think you are trying to over complicate it and in the process you are confusing me as to what you are asking. I have a few different pics that may help.



Thanks hvactech this was helpful. I know this post was over a year ago so hopefully you are still around helping. I had to install a new motor in my unit. And it used a different capacitor. I used the diagram to connect it because the wiring is different. The unit was working again which was great. Well that night I noticed the outdoor unit was still running even though it was off inside. I have the brown and the brown/white going to the capacitor and the black wire and white wire going to the relay. Now I had the black on the bottom right and the white one the bottom left. I went looking for more info and found someone saying it needs to be black on bottom left and white on top left. So I did that and when I turn on the ac. It work for a few minutes but then the outside unit shut off and the inside was still running so it was hot air blowing. I put the wires the way I had them so it can at least get cool again. Now the unit is running but it is still blowing hot air. Any idea what I am doing wrong? Any help would be great. Thanks. By the way it is the top connection. Oval 5mfd capacitor.
Thebigswig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:16 PM   #19
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


did you change your capacitor? If so, and you wired per the top picture then it should have worked and it sounds like it did. When you say the unit was still running and the indoor unit was off, do you mean that the compressor and fan were running or just the fan?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:27 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
did you change your capacitor? If so, and you wired per the top picture then it should have worked and it sounds like it did. When you say the unit was still running and the indoor unit was off, do you mean that the compressor and fan were running or just the fan?
Both were running the whole time even when the house cooled off and the inside unit shut off. Also now it's hot again and the unit is running outside. Thanks for the response.
Thebigswig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:34 PM   #21
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


Both running while the thermostat stopped calling for cool is an indication of a stuck contactor.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:45 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
Both running while the thermostat stopped calling for cool is an indication of a stuck contactor.
Would that prevent it from cooling. When I put the wires back your way both units stay on and it's not getting cold and how can I fix the contacter.
Thebigswig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:47 PM   #23
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


pictures? no, it would not keep it from cooling. Is the fan running in the correct direction?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:09 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


No pics right now. I can't upload from here for some reason. I have to log into my comp and try. I am going to shut the unit off until the morning. The fan is running the right way. It worked great with the way you showed above but since it wouldn't turn off I thought maybe I did it wrong and tried it the other way when the fan stopped I put it back your way and now it is blowing warm air. I don't know if the relay went bad or what. I will post pics of what I have when I get a chance.
Thebigswig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:14 PM   #25
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


if you shut off and then restarted the system too quickly the compressor may not be running. Feel the lines coming into the outdoor unit. Small line should be warm/hot...large line should be cool/cold.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:22 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring fan to capacitor


I will check that. This is weird now it feels like the house is cooling off. I don't get what is going on with this unit. I didn't even do anything to it. Hopefully it stays this way and I can focus on the connector. I will let you know thanks

Thebigswig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace condensor fan motor? twags HVAC 43 07-22-2013 08:09 PM
what is the differnce between a 35/5mfd 440 vac dual run capacitor and a 40/5 440 and does anyone have the wiring diagram. Neece HVAC 6 10-28-2010 05:51 PM
Air Handler Motor Wiring brando1118 HVAC 13 06-18-2010 11:42 AM
fan motor and capacitor wiring help! henkster HVAC 2 08-03-2009 10:56 PM
Fan / Capacitor Wiring Help Needed beachratz HVAC 2 07-25-2009 12:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.