Wiring Duct Fan To Goodman Unit - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2010, 10:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring duct fan to Goodman unit


I'm working on a remodel which has forced me to redo some ductwork. The old duct was down in a soffit and not very accessible so the way I had to add on wasn't ideal and doesn't carry much air. I want to add a duct fan to the new duct to pull more air through.

I want to wire this fan directly to the unit so that it comes on and off when the unit does - both heat and A/C. I've got an 11 year old Goodman GMP100-5 unit. I've found the manual online and confirmed that it has an EAC switch which carries 115 VAC that is powered in both the heating and AC modes. The manual gives no further information about how many amps or anything else that can be powered by this terminal.

The fan I've bought is a Tjernlund EF-8 - it is 120 V, 56 watts and 1.1 amps. The fan will be located about 15 feed from the unit. Is there anyway to know whether or not the power off of the unit is sufficient to power this fan?

I plan on putting a solid state fan control inline as well just in case the fan pulls too much air, I can dial it back.

Thanks for your help.

Advertisement

GDNTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 10:47 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,457
Rewards Points: 4,560
Default

Wiring duct fan to Goodman unit


EAC. Won't handle that load. 1 amp max.

Use a sail switch. Install it in the return plenum..

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:05 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring duct fan to Goodman unit


Thanks for the quick reply - They make a smaller fan a 6" which is rated at 30 watts and .4 amps. I figure this would work as well (I don't need a lot of air) and I'd really like to have it wired in vs trying to get access into the return air to and wire in a sail switch. Maybe I'm being hard headed, but if I went with the smaller fan and wired it to the board are there any real drawbacks to doing it this way?
GDNTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:12 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,457
Rewards Points: 4,560
Default

Wiring duct fan to Goodman unit


Probably won't get enough air flow with the smaller fan.

The EAC is not designed with an induction load in mind. motors are induction loads. And on start up can draw 10 times as muc as their amp rating is. And often more the 10 times.

Your call. It might hold up.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Planning on New duct work..any feedback... kilosos2 HVAC 28 01-26-2011 10:21 AM
Wiring Honeywell thermostat to Carrier Unit Captk1959 HVAC 1 03-26-2010 11:26 AM
Goodman GMPN100-4 oneam HVAC 16 02-28-2010 04:58 AM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 12:49 PM
Wiring Project - Need opinions boyfly Electrical 13 02-01-2008 04:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts