Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2012, 01:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring for AC


Hi!

My dad has his furnace replaced a few months ago, and they never wired the thermostat to the furnace to the a/c. From what I've read, there should be a yellow and a black that gets wired to the furnace. Unfortunately, there's two yellow wires going to the AC unit.

I was hoping somebody could suggest which is the yellow and which is the black. Does it matter? There's only two wires for the AC, right?





Thanks!

wiz561 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 01:16 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,166
Rewards Points: 88
Default

Wiring for AC


Close your eyes and grab the first one. You can call it Yellow, you can call it Black, you can call it Red, You can call it Blue. Hell, you can call it any color in the Crayola Crayon box, it really does not matter what color you call it, just pick one.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 01:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring for AC


So, from what it sounds like, the color and scheme doesn't matter to the AC? Is there a way you can reverse wire it and blow something?

Thanks for the response!

Last edited by wiz561; 05-20-2012 at 01:29 PM. Reason: giving thanks.
wiz561 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 01:43 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,166
Rewards Points: 88
Default

Wiring for AC


Only if you connect one of the hots for the 240vac circuit to one of those wires. Then maybe you will hear a loud pop and see the release of the magic smoke.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Ravenworks (05-21-2012)
Old 05-20-2012, 01:44 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring for AC


Thank you so much for the information. We'll have to give that a shot.

I'll stay away from the 240. :D


Thanks again!
wiz561 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.