Wires On Fire - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2012, 06:25 PM   #16
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Wires on Fire


Quote:
Originally Posted by jb64 View Post
BT & Doc,
I mean it, you both really helped with the other unit, its ready for freon. I was having brain problems believing 2.5 mfd difference was going to double the run current, I was way wrong.

I can be reached by dialing 911 on your telephone. Ask for the fire department.

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:29 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wires on Fire


BT,
I didn't want to say it, sometimes tradesmen get mad, nevermind, all ac motors are "3-phase", a cap is used to throw off one of the phases to make a 3rd.
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:37 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Wires on Fire


The sq d outside, are probably 60 amp disconnect, not breakers. I use them, and it says on the package they come in. Not an over current protection device, disconnect means only(Or something to that wording).

If you garage regularly exceeds 104, then you might want to get other breakers. but before doing so, I would check how warm/hot they get while its that hot inside.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:37 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wires on Fire


Ok this is good, Never set your analog meter to ohms when measuring 480vac
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:45 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wires on Fire


first, not disconnects, breakers outside. It even is labeled 40C, I doubt disconnects have a temp rating. Others have been surprised by this fact too.
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:45 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Wires on Fire


Quote:
Originally Posted by jb64 View Post
Ok this is good, Never set your analog meter to ohms when measuring 480vac
They tend not to do well when you do that. Some of them have a good fuse that will pen before the meter burns up. Some don't.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:50 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Wires on Fire


Quote:
Originally Posted by jb64 View Post
first, not disconnects, breakers outside. It even is labeled 40C, I doubt disconnects have a temp rating. Others have been surprised by this fact too.

Does it look like this disconnect.

http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CL4BEPMCMAA
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:52 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wires on Fire


Back to ohms on 480, meter blew up, the shock wave knocked me down, no hearing, no vision for 30 secs, don't do that
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:53 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wires on Fire


exactly
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:54 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Wires on Fire


Quote:
Originally Posted by jb64 View Post
exactly
Thats not a breaker. Its a disconnect switch only.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:56 PM   #26
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Wires on Fire


Quote:
Originally Posted by jb64 View Post
Back to ohms on 480, meter blew up, the shock wave knocked me down, no hearing, no vision for 30 secs, don't do that

911 also has EMS services available. Sorry, I can't help myself. Professional, pff.

Alright, I won't reply on this thread any longer, I'm about to have a brain aneurysm.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
jb64 (05-07-2012)
Old 05-07-2012, 06:57 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wires on Fire


I mean BT thats exactly what i got
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:00 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wires on Fire


Doc,
Lighten up dude, I did that in '85. Now I only burn up 240 or less :p
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:00 PM   #29
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Wires on Fire


Quote:
Originally Posted by jb64 View Post
I mean BT thats exactly what i got
Ah. I guess doc's is rubbing of on me. ROFL

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
jb64 (05-07-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timer switch has 4 wires. Only 3 wires on switch by itself. Now what. noone Electrical 11 11-15-2011 07:07 AM
installing an electrical outlet with 3 sets of wires + ground dsparks Electrical 7 07-08-2009 07:18 PM
Req: Help connecting circuit breaker and running wires RickDel Electrical 5 05-26-2009 07:38 PM
Confusing Chandelier Wires Burnsy Electrical 21 02-22-2009 04:29 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts