Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2006, 12:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire size for Central Air


Hi Everyone!

I am currently working on finishing my basement, and need to make sure i have all the appropiate stuff done, before i install my ceiling.

I would like to know what size of wire I should run for a future central air unit that i will be installing. I know that all depends on how big of an AC unit, but i am not sure about that. Our house is about 1200 sq ft main floor.

I am pretty sure it has to be a 220 run, but not sure on guage of wire. I was thinking 10/3 w/ground, how does that sound?

Thanks!
Mark

mwtuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 03:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wire size for Central Air


Not only does it depend on the AC unit, but it also depends on how for the wire will go away from the main panel.To be safe, run 6-2 with a ground.For most any standard that should be adequite. If you find that to be over kill then go to 8-2 with a ground.

acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 05:06 PM   #3
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wire size for Central Air


You absolutely need the dataplate information off the condensing unit. It will say "miniumum circuit ampacity", which will dictate the wire gauge. It will also say, "maximum fuse or breaker size", which will dictate the maximum size of the overcurrent protection device. Please, do not guess. Get a cut sheet from your vendor. For the indoor unit, get a cut sheet also. It could be anything from 15 amps at 120 volts for an ordinary air handler, all the way up to 100 amps at 240 volts if you have electric heat in that air handler.
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM
Wire Size Help-400ft line to pond for fountain brownie47854 Electrical 14 04-22-2007 12:50 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Wire size and others... Bob C Electrical 5 04-24-2006 07:53 PM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.