Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2013, 02:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Replacing ge fan motor with ao smith fe1026sc motor.Ge motor had three wires and used a dual capacitor. New motor has 4 wires brown , brown and white stripe, black, white. It came with a new fan capacitor. It appears the brown & brown and white will go to new capacitor if that is correct I don't understand how it gets power. The original capacitor I think will keep the blue compressor wire on the herm terminal, the fan terminal will be empty. Black of old motor went to circuit board I guess this motors black will go to same place (??) and white to ?????
The old motor third wire Yellow went to capacitor common.
Any help will be appreciated.
Dennis


Last edited by denn; 04-21-2013 at 04:13 PM.
denn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 05:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor




Connect the black wire to the defrost control like the old motor was wired.
I would cut the 4 small bolts on the shaft side of the motor to allow the blade to operate closer to the motor if they are not used for mounting.


Last edited by Houston204; 04-21-2013 at 05:24 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 06:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Thanks - Just to be sure. Your replacement motor diagram shows white going to right side of contactor. The original motor wire (yellow) was going to common of dual capacitor. Then another from common to right side of contactor. Maybe for ease of wiring if motor was replaced?? Can I wire white
motor wire to the common in the same way.
Thanks for your help
Dennis
denn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 06:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Either way. The yellow wire from the contactor to the capacitor common makes either choice the same electrically.

I wire it to the contactor if there is an available spot.

Sounds like you are working on a Carrier/ Bryant unit.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Yes it is a carrier unit - original motor is a ge hc39ge237 its getting noisy
and I want to give my neighbors a break. You have been most helpful.
I am going to tackle this in the am. Need to cut shaft and will cuts bolts as you suggested.
Regards,
Dennis
denn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 11:18 PM   #6
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Cutting the shaft is rarely required with 2 ton or larger condensers, though it often appears as if it will be necessary. Some older round Carriers units also required this.

Cutting the 4 bolts on the shaft side of the motor is usually required or the blade sits too low in the condenser and does not properly discharge air from the top of the unit.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 09:16 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 420
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
Cutting the shaft is rarely required with 2 ton or larger condensers, though it often appears as if it will be necessary. Some older round Carriers units also required this.

Cutting the 4 bolts on the shaft side of the motor is usually required or the blade sits too low in the condenser and does not properly discharge air from the top of the unit.

When you mention shaft length, remindes me of a post I read somewhere that somebody had their fan motor replaced and the shaft being too long, bored a hole into the top of the compressor! They were inquiring how or what to use to patch the compressor. Lol
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 12:00 PM   #8
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


I've seen the shaft rubbing the top of the compressor on a small 1.5 ton unit before.
The customer called back because it was very noisey.
I was amazed that the old tech that installed it could not hear something so noisey.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:44 PM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,615
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


for others reading this finger measure that space between the blade and the motor ...spritz of WD40 down the shaft grab the area between the motor and shaft "channel locks" and 1/4 turn back and forth.... do not try to slide that blade housing yet full turning old blade and sanding of the old shaft and you good to slide it up
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:31 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Houston 204
Finally quit raining and installed fan motor. I'm not sure rotation is correct
It is turning counter clockwise. Feel some air coming out but that could just be a kick back off the bottom??? I expected a rush of air. any way to tell
by the pitch of the fan blade or some other way.
denn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:47 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by denn View Post
Houston 204
Finally quit raining and installed fan motor. I'm not sure rotation is correct
It is turning counter clockwise. Feel some air coming out but that could just be a kick back off the bottom??? I expected a rush of air. any way to tell
by the pitch of the fan blade or some other way.
Well you can watch it spin, it should be pretty obvious. If it's spinning from the side of the blade that points down to the side that points up, air will go up. But try taking a piece of paper & sitting it on top of the fan grill. If it blows off it's right, if it sucks to the grill it isn't.

If it's not right most generic motor have reversing wires which will be preconnected to each other with spade terminals. (usually orange & yellow on the motors we use) Switch the wires around to make it spin the opposite direction
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 01:19 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


it's obvious now - after you said it. I will change plug as you suggested.
I last question - does it matter what side of run capacitor does the brown
wire and brown and white go. I have brown on left and brown and white
on right as you look at front of capacitor. I think not but ??
You have been a great help.
Dennis
denn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 04:44 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by denn View Post
it's obvious now - after you said it. I will change plug as you suggested.
I last question - does it matter what side of run capacitor does the brown
wire and brown and white go. I have brown on left and brown and white
on right as you look at front of capacitor. I think not but ??
You have been a great help.
Dennis
No it doesn't matter, as long as they aren't connected to the same terminal it should work.
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 05:56 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


The fan is installed and running correctly. I learned a lot thanks.
The noise was still there so I disconnected the black fan wire to stop
fan and ran compressor for a few seconds and that is where noise is coming from. Unit is a heat pump and it is blowing cool air so the (transfer switch ???) must be working. The coils have been cleaned. Compressor is 7 years old. I'm not sure if there is any thing I can check. If I place a service
call are there intelligent questions I can ask. I have a feeling that service tech will simply say I need a new compressor. That's okay if it is the real answer. In my case I will need to replace handler also as this is a r22 system.
denn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 02:20 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

wire new out door ac fan motor


Finally got to source of loud compressor noise. a/c guy working on my neighbors air conditioning did a quick check & removed compressor hold down
bolts. Noise went away. He said bolts not needed - unit not going anywhere
piping will hold it in place. Should I be concerned?

denn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help replacing HVAC condensor fan motor - 3 wire old to 4 wire new jmcinni HVAC 4 08-18-2012 03:11 PM
How wire an HP 1.0 Motor Dayton ? Conquistador Electrical 5 01-27-2012 07:34 PM
wire leads on Reliance Motor abnormalnorman Electrical 13 06-30-2010 09:49 AM
New fan motor going out? DavidI HVAC 5 06-23-2010 10:38 AM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.