Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 07:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,505
Share |
Default

wire colors


i had to take my stat loose today, to put up drywall. when i loosened the screws, i noticed the blue wire had broken loose. the furnace was working just fine. so idk if that wire was loose or i had broken it right then.

anyway. green, white, blue, red. what does each wire do ?

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:45 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

wire colors


Not colors, terminals but on average it is the color connected to the corresponding terminal.


Terminal/ wire color
G-green wire (fan)
W-white wire (heat)
Y-blue wire (cooling) -had you had a yellow wire that may also (instead of blue) have been used for Y/cooling
R-red wire (24 volts.power)

Many times the blue is used as a common on digital stats but again, you'd have a different color wire, mostly yellow, connected to the Y terminal for cooling.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-10-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 07:46 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

wire colors


Btw, you should turn the breaker to the furnace off before doing any stat wire work. You can blow a fuse or a transformer if you touch that red/power wire live to metal.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:51 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

wire colors


Now if you don't have cooling and you do have a digital stat than blue would be on the C terminal/common to power the stat.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:54 PM   #5
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,505
Default

wire colors


You do have a digital camera, or a cell phone with a camera in it, and took a picture or made a sketch of where the wires connected before you disconnected them right?

If the blue one broke, there should be a little wire loop under the screw where it went. Now at least you know where the blue one goes. ;-)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Thermostat Wire.pdf (33.6 KB, 58 views)
jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,505
Default

wire colors


ok

the red wire. that powers the stat ? my digital stat has batteries. so what does the red wire do here ?

i turned the furnace off with the switch on the side of it.

i did write down the connections. but i didn't need to. as the terminals are labeled.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:12 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,539
Default

wire colors


It brings 24 volts to the stat so when the stat closes one of its switches, 24 volts can be sent to the terminal that provides heating cooling or fan on, as needed.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 10:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,505
Default

wire colors


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
It brings 24 volts to the stat so when the stat closes one of its switches, 24 volts can be sent to the terminal that provides heating cooling or fan on, as needed.
thanx. yeah, i thought just that after i logged off yesterday.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 07:16 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 273
Default

wire colors


You didn't mention air conditioning so I'll assume you don't have that.

Some digital stats require (or have the option) of a connection back to the furnace that basically is the ground or neutral so the stat can use the power from the furnace's transformer to keep it powered up. This kind of style uses the battery only as a backup incase of a power outage.

old_squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing a dimmer - wire colors dkcyw Electrical 2 07-04-2012 02:06 AM
Honeywell vision pro, fan always on? and True Steam problem c5sb HVAC 6 06-19-2012 09:08 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Wire colors to a switch jamiedolan Electrical 5 09-14-2008 02:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.