Why Won't Furnace Restart? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2010, 10:33 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Why won't furnace restart?


After taking apart my condensate pump to clean it and then reinstalling it I can't get the A/C furnace to restart. Nothing will come on (heat pump, or blower). the thermostat looks normal and says it is cooling. I assume there is a way to reset this but can not figure out how. I have checked fuses at the panel and on the blower, and heat pump. I even did the turn it off twice in 30 seconds with no success. It is a 5 year old American Standard, heat pump. Any ideas are appreciated. Its getting hot in the house!!!
Thanks

Advertisement

Randy6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 10:59 AM   #2
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Why won't furnace restart?


Did you happen to remove the door from the blower compartment at any time? Check door switch.

Advertisement

__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 05:46 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,094
Rewards Points: 826
Default

Why won't furnace restart?


Does the condensate pump have an extra overflow switch connected to 2 wires besides the main wiring. The switch is on the pump and if it is stuck open (thinks there is a high water level issue) then it stops 24 volts to the furnace. May just need to reset the switch or check its float to see if it is stuck in the up position.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 09:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Peach state
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 85
Default

Why won't furnace restart?


Bypass the cond. pump safty switch then turn the t-stat to fan on.
If the fan comes on its your cond. pump.
If there is no fan check to see if you blew a fuse in the air handler.
Sounds like you shorted out the low voltage wires.
mikethe ductman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:13 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Why won't furnace restart?


I tried bypassing the pump and still did not get it to run. In the end it was the low voltage fuse. Thanks for the help
Randy6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 07:13 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Citrus Heights of California
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Why won't furnace restart?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fabrk8r View Post
Did you happen to remove the door from the blower compartment at any time? Check door switch.

This is a common mistake for that problem. As an HVAC guy myself, I've heard techs going to homes just to properly replace the blower door. I've done it myself on my own furnace just the other day.

Advertisement

Mr_Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Trane XE 80 Furnace - flame out and restart Thome HVAC 3 10-12-2009 06:27 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts