Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2012, 06:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


after replace all components in my furnace mother board, glow plug ignition, pressure switch, flame rod sensor, my furnace fails to come on an cycle after a few months of running smooth....i have to shut the furnace off the turn it ...help i am tapped out an just had major back surgery an do not no what the problem is.... or what else to replace except for the inducer motor or thermostat

rickwest59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:03 PM   #2
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


Look like you replace everything but the furnace it self. So what is it doing? Not coming on at all? Is it short cycling? You been changing filters every 30 day?

Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:09 PM   #3
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


Did you replace the combustion restrictor ring behind the inducer motor?

Also if your filters got just medium heavy dirt the GUH model furnace was prone to over heating and and locking out.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:14 PM   #4
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


Hey HVAC5646
How did you know what furnace he has???
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:27 PM   #5
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


Checked his old post
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:35 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


supply voltage is solid 120V and true secondaries 24V,the fan squirrel cage is clean or dirt and dust,the furnace does it have AC on it with an A coil possibly dirting causing short cycling?did all those part changes happen one at a time and it ran OK...then another change of part and so on....was the stat original to the system not a digital add on.. to the exsisting transformer in the furnace.did you ever just jump R to W at the subbase and get a soilid cycle of heat that would ace the stat..VA within the transformer might be weakening making everything drag...even though you read a true 24V or better..typical is 40VA on installs or furnaces as shipped maybe go to a 50VA...were you blowing low voltage fuses at any time...

Last edited by biggles; 02-13-2012 at 07:49 PM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 09:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennesse
Posts: 74
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


Is it a condensing furnace and if so have you cleaned out the trap and lines?
dosy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:20 PM   #8
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


Who changed all of these parts out?
Maybe its time to get a differant troubleshooter on site instead of just throwing lots of money/parts at the problem
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 08:31 AM   #9
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Who changed all of these parts out?
Maybe its time to get a differant troubleshooter on site instead of just throwing lots of money/parts at the problem
op diy'ed them.

for what the poor guy paid in parts he could have hired a pro.

That aside...that GUH has seen better days. There were too many design flaws with it, overheating with right sized duct work...throwing combustion rings.

PUT ONE IN WITH ALL NEW DUCT WORK AND WHEN i CLOCKED THE METER IT WAS FIRING AT 10K BTU MORE THAN NAME PLATE.
fACTORY TOLD ME IF i CHANGED THE ORIFICES THAT i WOULD VOID WARRANTY.??????
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

why does my furnace run for a few months then quit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickwest59 View Post
after a few months of running smooth
Some new part is mildly overstressed because you haven't found the root cause and so it eventually fails.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Moving furnace & redoing ducting cbrc5eric HVAC 0 02-09-2012 08:13 AM
Furnace running proper? Spydey HVAC 6 12-16-2011 07:57 PM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Ducane furnace quit working New Mexico HVAC 3 11-17-2009 09:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.