Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2011, 04:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
Share |
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


The tag on the unit with all the specs is attached.

I have to replace the evaporator coil due to a freon leak.
Please point me to a link that is compatible.
dimensions are as follows: 35.5 x 25 x 12

THanks!
Attached Thumbnails
What tonnage is my outside ac unit?-img00216-20110713-1559.jpg   What tonnage is my outside ac unit?-img00151-20110628-2016.jpg  


Last edited by blarose; 07-13-2011 at 04:25 PM.
blarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 05:30 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


49,000 BTU = 4 ton 1996 R22 unit. I would replace both the indoor coil and condensor as the SEER rating on that unit is 10 or less. Condensors nowadays are 13 SEER or higher and won't work with your old coil properly.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 06:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
49,000 BTU = 4 ton 1996 R22 unit. I would replace both the indoor coil and condensor as the SEER rating on that unit is 10 or less. Condensors nowadays are 13 SEER or higher and won't work with your old coil properly.
Ok thanks for the answer.
I am going to be moving next year, so probably will just replace the evap coil unless there is something else I should be aware of.
blarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 06:22 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


The new evap coil will be a 13 SEER and may not work well with your older 10 SEER or lower condensor. Won't get the proper freon pressures and coil temp and won't dehumidify properly. Hang in here some of the other Pro's may have a workaround or other ideas. My company would not take on that job. NO way we could get it to work properly or guarantee any performance from it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 06:50 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


How fast does it leak out? An option is just fill it up to get through this summer then give the new owners the cost of the coil to apply towards a new system of their choice.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 07:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
How fast does it leak out? An option is just fill it up to get through this summer then give the new owners the cost of the coil to apply towards a new system of their choice.
It was filled 1 month ago and level on the gauge is already down to 60.
Also I meant to say dimensions of current coil is 33.5 x 25 x 12.
blarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 09:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by blarose View Post
It was filled 1 month ago and level on the gauge is already down to 60.
Also I meant to say dimensions of current coil is 33.5 x 25 x 12.
Can anyone point me to a link that has a compatible evap coil for my system?

Thanks
blarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 09:44 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,021
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by blarose View Post
Can anyone point me to a link that has a compatible evap coil for my system?

Thanks
Possibly not. I would just give open disclosure when you go to sell, and take the risk that the house will not sell, due to non-working hvac equipment, or take the bite, and update the air handler/furnace & outside unit, and have a better sell on the house, because it has updated hvac equipment, compared to the other houses that may already be on the market that are not selling, or may be on the market at that time you go to sell.

The more you can update the home (hvac, water heater if over 10 years, Windows/doors, Kitchen, Bath, flooring, painting, roof, garage door), you have a better chance of selling the house quicker, than those that do nothing to it.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 09:44 PM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,616
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Are those measurements the openings of the coil or the entire cabinet? You want the actual opening.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 09:46 PM   #10
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Ask your local dealer. When you get the correct replacement, you can search online as well.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 09:59 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Are those measurements the openings of the coil or the entire cabinet? You want the actual opening.
That is the entire cabinet.
the actual opening is about 25 x 21
blarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 10:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Possibly not. I would just give open disclosure when you go to sell, and take the risk that the house will not sell, due to non-working hvac equipment, or take the bite, and update the air handler/furnace & outside unit, and have a better sell on the house, because it has updated hvac equipment, compared to the other houses that may already be on the market that are not selling, or may be on the market at that time you go to sell.

The more you can update the home (hvac, water heater if over 10 years, Windows/doors, Kitchen, Bath, flooring, painting, roof, garage door), you have a better chance of selling the house quicker, than those that do nothing to it.
Not sure I quite understand. I have had 2 separate hvac companies quote me for just the evap coil replacement. They said it is best to replace everything together, but none of them have mentioned any bit of it not working.
If I do replace the condensor, can I just replace the outside unit and evap coil or does the furnace need to be replaced also?
I hate to get a whole new system as I will not receive a full return on investment. If I can get the system operational, I believe that isn't great but satisfactory to the average home buyer.

Thanks for the help!
blarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 10:07 PM   #13
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


As said, there is no compatable coil for your system. I think you will have a hard time finding a coil with those dimensions. If you do have a txv installed as it is the best option to get it working close to right.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 10:12 PM   #14
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,616
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by blarose View Post
That is the entire cabinet.
the actual opening is about 25 x 21

You need the exact opening dimensions. That is what we use when we replace evaporator coils, not the cabinet.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 10:18 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
Default

What tonnage is my outside ac unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
You need the exact opening dimensions. That is what we use when we replace evaporator coils, not the cabinet.
Seems odd that I cannot replace what is broken and I need to replace everything. If I had the money I would.

blarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
Had an Aire-Flo AC installed, looking for opinions mikemcd HVAC 14 08-01-2011 04:07 AM
new r-410a ac unit installation procedure(w/old unit r-22)? excalibur1 HVAC 0 06-06-2011 03:47 PM
Window A/C Unit and Supplying Power JayEnder Electrical 1 04-30-2011 07:50 PM
Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air beakon20 HVAC 4 08-13-2008 09:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.