Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2012, 01:35 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What Size A/C unit for my house


I have a 1300 SF house and I live in N. California where we get a few days above 100 a years but on advantage in the low to mid 90's during the summer. My A/C unit is the original unit installed when the house was built about 20 years ago. It seems to be working fine but I don't want it to fail in the middle of one our spells of 100 so I want to go ahead and replace it.

Would a 1.5 ton unit be the right size for a 1300SF house?

Thanks


Last edited by Sundance2012; 03-20-2012 at 01:37 AM.
Sundance2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:30 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,929
Rewards Points: 3,528
Default

What Size A/C unit for my house


Maybe, maybe not.

What size do you have now?

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-21-2012)
Old 03-20-2012, 08:19 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,337
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

What Size A/C unit for my house


Maybe a 5 ton, maybe a 2 ton, maybe no ton at all. No way anyone on a web forum is going to be able to tell you, since every home is different, including if the one next door is a exact twin, built by the same builder, they may not use the same size uni.

I have a 2 ton in my home, since I have no insulation in the walls, and enough in the attic, 820 sq foot main floor, 820 sq foot basement. Calc's came out stating a 1.5 ton, but after they crunched further numbers on my home, it came out that the 2 ton was better. So really no way anyone can answer your question, since it is what is called a "loaded" question.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:50 AM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

What Size A/C unit for my house


Whats the model number off whats in there now?
The efficiency has changed greatly on units in last 20 years so you could even possibly down size a little,depends on rest of house.
Either way if you have a new 410a unit installed you need to look for a new coil also.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:21 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,929
Rewards Points: 3,528
Default

What Size A/C unit for my house


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Whats the model number off whats in there now?
The efficiency has changed greatly on units in last 20 years so you could even possibly down size a little,depends on rest of house.
Either way if you have a new 410a unit installed you need to look for a new coil also.
A higher efficiency 2 ton has no more cooling ability then an older low efficiency 2 ton does.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-21-2012)
Old 03-21-2012, 06:19 AM   #6
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

What Size A/C unit for my house


What is your heat and cooling loads? Without proper calculations you are only guessing at best. so is any contractor offering information without properly inspecting your air leakage of the home, the amount and condition of all existing insulation, quality and type of windows and much more. For example: a 1500 sq foot house with poor insulation and a 5500 cfm/hr leakage may need a 2 ton unit or better. But a well sealed and insulated home of the same size might only need a 18K heat pump.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 06:13 AM
jack size for house levelling dncllns Tools 14 07-22-2012 07:43 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Trane XR12 1.5 ton-Too small for my house? Badfish740 HVAC 7 09-23-2009 06:48 AM
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 11:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.