Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2009, 03:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Lightbulb

What size AC?


House is a 1971 concrete block ranch, 1480 sq ft, double attached garaage (not conditioned) 5 windows facing S.W. (3 are small-bath & bedrooms). Attic sealed and insulated recently to R31. Attic has original (1971) rectangular sheet metal ducts (internally insulated).
Original oil fired furnace works but I never use it. (Live in hot humid Tampa, FL) My intent is to replace with A/C and Electric heat (rarely use) or heat pump W/ strips. Gas is not in the area. Temp here gets up around 92 (now) and rarely gets down below 40 in Jan (only a day or 2 at a time as a cold front passes through) Heat pump heat operation is not a big consideration here. Present A/C condensor is 19yrs old. Air handler is original (38 yrs old)
Contractors have tried to sell me up to 4 Ton units. Originally came with a no Seer 2 1/2 Ton Chrysler temp.
My question: Can i get a 2 1/2 T to work again with the attic insulation improvements (R31), tinted glass, window awnings on SW windows, sealed up attic holes, garage attic access blocked off, new light colored roof w/ ridge vents? Or am I wasting my money trying to get a 2 1/2T to work? House is going to be a rental but I don`t want tennants moving out because of being uncomfortable in the summer. House has 200A box.
What suggestions have you?

mikgills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 02:46 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What size AC?


Welcome to this site, I hope someone answered you!
Be safe, Gary

Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 11:38 PM   #3
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What size AC?


A rule of thumb is 1 ton does 500 sq' of well insulated space with good doors and windows. So your 2.5 ton unit should suffice.
__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-25-2011 11:29 PM
Building a patio cover...span and size of lumber Q's jongordo8 Building & Construction 1 08-30-2009 12:08 AM
pre-hung door, 32x80 is that door size or total size? RyanD Building & Construction 3 06-28-2009 10:33 PM
Room size X floor tile size deck hand Flooring 4 04-08-2009 04:42 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.