Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2011, 06:22 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 410
Share |
Default

What requires electricity?


Hello all,

I have a general question... during the recent power outage in NJ, my sisters steam heat system did not work. Her thermostat is battery powered. What part of this system would generally require electricity. Is it the ignition/modulation for the burner?

How much electricity would it take to keep this system going (is it very little?).
Assuming there is no pump, or fan connected to a steam system, it would seem that it wouldn't take much electricity to back this system up (?)


Last edited by pcampbell; 11-05-2011 at 07:39 AM.
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 08:42 AM   #2
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,043
Default

What requires electricity?


Without more info you'd have to tell us. Could have pilot or electronic ignitor. Could have cirulation pumps. A quick look at the system including any label plates should answer your questions.

raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 09:02 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,409
Default

What requires electricity?


Basic residential steam system can be ran on a small generator. Gas or oil burner will require less then 1KW.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 11:39 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Default

What requires electricity?


If there are no circulation or fuel pumps then you might be able to switch over to a standing pilot system using a thermopile and millivolt gas valve. The thermopile will generate the electricity needed to open the gas valve. A professional will need to asses the system to see if this is possible.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing an electricity monitor sensor inside my fuse box - which wire? nickday Electrical 5 04-17-2011 01:10 AM
No electricity in half the room (somewhat complicated) jimbob8690 Electrical 1 07-13-2010 03:23 PM
electricity from house to garage J MAC Electrical 19 07-05-2009 06:19 PM
Is there a way to tell what's using the electricity from panel? Piedmont Electrical 9 02-12-2009 12:04 AM
Old A/C use more electricity than old A/C? clue89 Electrical 4 03-02-2007 04:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.