Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 06:02 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

what furnace to pick?


I'll try to keep this somewhat short. I have had 3 quotes for a new furnace for a 2100sq ft house in mid-michigan.

1. 70k btu amana 96%, 2 stage with variable speed. for $3680
2. 80k btu York 96%, 2 stage with variable speed. for $3950
3. 80k btu Bryan preferred 95t, 2 speed with ecm motor for $2950

Is one model superior to another? I live in a split level, would I benifit a lot from the variable speed vrs. the 2 speed?

I'm leaning towards the amana or the bryant but am concerned with the 70k btu (however the amana installer took the most time sizing the house)

Thoughts???

oba97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 06:06 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,766
Rewards Points: 24
Default

what furnace to pick?


What size btu was your last furnace, the one that's being replaced? Did it hold up in the middle of your normal (harsh) Winter?

Other than size they're all the same.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 06:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


The current furnace is original 76 vintage 165kbtu. Im not sure about how it does in the winter because we just moved in this summer but want to replace it prior to winter.
oba97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 06:33 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,766
Rewards Points: 24
Default

what furnace to pick?


And you said they all performed heat load calculations?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 06:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


the person selling the amana went in every room, looked at my insulation attic. (gave me the quote right away)

the York person went in all rooms. (gave me a quote 2 days later)

The Bryant person just asked how many square feet my house was (he did ask a few times if I was sure on the house size). (gave my a quote by end of same day)

All three said they had to do some calculations to see how large of a unit I needed.

None specifically said they were doing load calculations.


The company with the Bryant I have had good experience with them in the past, but they seemed the least professional and took the least time.
oba97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 06:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


That's quite a cut in output. I ask also...did they do Manual J's? Is it still working? I'd be curious to see how the old furnace did throughout the winter. The old furnace could be at 75% efficiency maybe a bit more....but still going from 165k to 80k is extreme even with todays efficient units. I'm sure there will be many more answers here to advise. All three units are good, a good installation will give you many years of service and use. It's a shame you don't have a history with the house to know what the 165K did in the winter.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:01 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,766
Rewards Points: 24
Default

what furnace to pick?


What do your neighbors have? I'm assuming there are homes very similar in design and construction close to you? I'd ask them to get a good feel for what you may be needing. Technically though a heat load analysis (calculation) needs to be performed to figure the size out. When the home was built it was determined that a 165k btu output furnace was needed and it's worked for over 40 years.

As MB just said, something is wrong going from 165k to 80k, that's less than half. You'd do that on a whim if you divided your home in half, put a wall in the middle and put the new furnace on and for one side only.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


The way I understand it is that 165 workes but Im loosing a lot of it out the chimney. And with high eff. furnaces you dont need the high btu's. The most expensive company is a family business that has been around town for decades. They have a great reputation so I have to believe that they know what they are doing. I would love to go with them but they are the most expensive (he admitted that if I was price shopping he would loose out on the job)
oba97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


Take a look at your existing furnace and tell us what info is on the name plate. You may be able to determine the efficience there. Rest assured it's not going to be anywhere near the new furnaces that are being offered. That being said...a proper load calculation would determine what size furnace you should install. And I usually don't expound on the values of load calculations but in this case, with no knowledge of the previous years performance and the huge difference in sizing between the new and old I think it's a very good idea to do the research..
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:51 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


Im not sure of the manufacturer but it says its model is GSU165TF series NAJSE
Input BTU 165 000 and Bonnet Cap BTU 132 000
oba97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:05 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


That makes your existing furnace 80% efficient. (20% of the energy used goes up the flue) I'm having a real issue understanding how a furnace with 132k capacity can be replaced with one of nearly half that. Doc has a very good idea about talking to your neighbors. See what furnace size is working for them.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:13 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oba97 View Post
The current furnace is original 76 vintage 165kbtu. Im not sure about how it does in the winter because we just moved in this summer but want to replace it prior to winter.
Forgot to ask, where do you live? There are 5 zones used for BTU calculations which may help to advise you about sizing the furnace.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:23 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


mid michigan
oba97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:24 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: As always..beside myself.
Posts: 4,226
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


I'm not sure if this is going to help or not (don't laugh Doc) but I have a similar sized backsplit home with similar climate if not a little worse than the op's.

Last Sept I had a Bryant plus 95 preferred installed. It was a great choice. Heats the house up in no time. Gas bill is very reasonable.
I keep the fan running all summer and it barely is reflected on the hydro bill. It was so effective at keeping the house cool that I only turned the ac on once the entire summer
creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:33 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

what furnace to pick?


creeper, what size did you have installed? Did you have a variable speed or multi speed? Where abouts in ontartio?

oba97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 07:01 AM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 06:42 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.