Weird (?) Boiler Issue - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-22-2011, 08:48 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Weird (?) boiler Issue

Just finished up some plumbing work yesterday afternoon. Turned the water on to get things back up and running, and after a few minutes, water just started gushing out of the pressure release spout of the boiler. Tried it twice just to be sure it wasn't a fluke, but I didn't think to check the pressure gauge either time.

We've owned the house for 2 months, and I know there's been one other time in that time where a few gallons have come out of the pressure release. Of course we weren't there for that one. I'm completely new to boilers, so I'm not really sure where to even start with this one. Thoughts?

Advertisement

dvaupel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 09:09 AM   #2
Master General ReEngineer

Rewards Points: 2,300

Weird (?) boiler Issue

Quote:
but I didn't think to check the pressure gauge either time.
Ayuh,... If it's an Over-pressure situation, ya gotta fix the make-up water feed valve...

If it Ain't, replace the safety valve...

Advertisement

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 09:51 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,000

Weird (?) boiler Issue