Weatherking Furnace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2009, 10:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

weatherking furnace


We have a weatherking furnace that runs for 180 sec. max then shuts down. I was told this is how it operates. It is an 80% 75k updraft. Does anyone know if this cycle time can be increased. or do we just live with it. The manual discribes this as the longest time setting. The problem is the air temp doesn't seem very warm although it does keep the house warm.

Advertisement

daroofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 11:00 AM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

weatherking furnace


it should satisify the t.stat setting. Has it always done this?

Advertisement


Last edited by kenmac; 04-14-2009 at 11:22 AM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 11:20 AM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,122
Rewards Points: 882
Default

weatherking furnace


The 180 seconds is the time the fan runs after the burner shuts off, and is there to cool off the heat exchanger. It can be shortened. What type of thermostat do you have and where is it located. If it is an old mercury type then it has an adjustable heat anticipator, but is so inefficient I would replace it with an electronic type like the Honeywell Vision or Focus Pros. If the tstat is near a heat register the new furnace with a more powerful fan may be blowing warm air at it and causing it to short cycle.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 12:07 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

weatherking furnace


If it's not heating the home to t.stat setting you could also have air flow issues causing it to cycle on limit, or under fired furnace or like yuri indicated heat anticipator isn't set correctly on the t.stat causing short cycling
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 09:02 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

weatherking furnace


the ut electronic controls have are pre set for blower off timing. the jumpers are 90,120,160, and 180 sec. of timing. I found this in the manual. This is the method this unit uses. My question in more can this be time be extended and how to do this also will this effect the function of the furnace and cause problems having a longer cycle time.
daroofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 01:16 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,549
Rewards Points: 4,736
Default

weatherking furnace


No, that time can't be extended.
And if it could, you would just get cold air out of it. Sonce the heat exchanger would also be cold/cooled off by the end of the 180seconds to begin with
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 01:54 PM   #7
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

weatherking furnace


If you want longer fan run time ... Just turn t.stat to fan on.. It will run as long as you want.. I remember the old honeywell fan/linit controls .. You could adjust the fan on / fan off on the dial.. Some of the camstat brands couldn't be adjusted
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 02:28 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

weatherking furnace


Thanks! That makes sense.
daroofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 03:17 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,549
Rewards Points: 4,736
Default

weatherking furnace


If you have sheet metal duct. And its uninsulated. That method can cool your home down quicker. Or give you the feeling of a cold draft.

It will even out the temps of the rooms in your home. But, doesn't help with heat other then that.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 03:24 AM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 08:06 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts